Tyler Walker, Professional Dogsledder


Advertisement
Published: March 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Lunchtime 16 secs
2: Sprinting 33 secs
3: Puppies 31 secs
Frozen Swimming HoleFrozen Swimming HoleFrozen Swimming Hole

Well, maybe not so great for swimming, there's probably leeches in there. But its toootally a lake!
Who knew?

Who knew I could get good at something as obscure as mushing dogs.
Last season, I became capable at running my own team, and capable of mangaging several other teams on trail. This year, Ive become capabale of managing MANY teams on trail, simultaneously. I know the approximate ages, metabolisms, attitudes and of course, names of the 370 dogs in our kennel. I can determine how well a pair of client drivers are doing by monitoring their dogs. Ive learned to trust our dogs aswell, as our dogs know WAAY more about dogsledding then our clients usually do.
For example, when two 10 sled (63 dogs each) come head to head on a trail, you wouldnt imagine that all those dogs, could all run right past eachother, none of them causing any problems, no teams veering into eachother, no fights, nor tangles, nor chaos of any kind. But they CAN, and its amazing, all a guide has to do is give them the chance. Sometimes guides stop expeditions in situations such as that, so one crew can pass, etc, but more often than not this year, weve just flown by eachother. Its pretty amazing to see.

Anyways.
Ice and SkyIce and SkyIce and Sky

Through my rear wheel.
This season has been a great season for me, life is going really well. I managed to put myself out of debt, Ive gained the respect of all of the staff here (and all of the dogs in our kennel... try yelling at a group of 60 dogs when they're barking wildly, and actually having them STOP.. man, thats power). And I have some plans for the summer already! Although they're still in the works. Im likely going to be doing another Otesha tour, although I havent quite figured out which one. Im thinking of going back to school, or leaving the country.. one of the two. Same as always, hey? Oh well, atleast Im consistant. Id also really like to come back to Chocpaw next winter, if I can. Im still unwinding from the season, and getting my head on strait.

Ever since last fall, when I almost completely broke, Ive been feeling a desire to aquire money. Whats more, is that recently my desire to leave Canada has really dwindled. I feel like my perception of whats important in life has shifted. Maybe for the best, maybe for worse, Im not sure, but I feel a strong desire to aquire savings, to establish a financial base.
Last fall, I had the mindset, "Money doesnt matter, Im going to do what makes me happy, I dont care if Im broke." I became so incredibly broke, I had to borrow money just to pay my cellphone bill. All of a sudden, money matters, and I no longer want to throw caution to the wind.

Anyways, on that fragment of a thought, my time here at the Library is done. Check out the vids and them pictures.

Lots of love, always and forever, foreverever

Ty





Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

MondofireMondofire
Mondofire

This is a fire some students and I made on our last night on trip. Did you know that "Hono!" means abnormally large fire, in Japanese? There were no Japanese students on our trip.
SpringtimeSpringtime
Springtime

At the dogyard. Nope, no more dogsledding right from our kennel, we gots to use trucks, every freakin' day, to cart dogs and sleds to our trailhead, 10 minutes away.
ThawThaw
Thaw

Rapids look freakin' sweet when they thaw!
Team Rockin' AwesomeTeam Rockin' Awesome
Team Rockin' Awesome

This was 2 hours into a 50km daytrip I did. It felt like we were racing all day. So fast. For example, the first leg of our trip to our first camp (which is normally a 1.5-2 hour run) took us 40 minutes. Holy crap. I love my team.
CampsetCampset
Campset

He'res some cool kats, settin' sum schweet tents! Foreground is Sam from the Uk, in the back is Andrew from Nova Scotia.
TentTent
Tent

Adam (my roomate, in the pic) and I built this one. Booya!
FallenFallen
Fallen

A friend, at an animal tracking workshop I did some months ago. I was adding insult to injury.
BigtoefaceBigtoeface
Bigtoeface

This is what real friends do to you. Its a self portrait, done by Kat.
RippinRippin
Rippin

Flying off last fall with 8 dog teams to go set one of our camps.
Ballin'Ballin'
Ballin'

We be ballin'. Heading off to camp set again, last fall.
HairyHairy
Hairy

And loving it. My days off have been well-enjoyed. I also cut my hair, its about shoulder length now, instead of mid-back.


Tot: 0.189s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0622s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb