Leaving Alberta


Advertisement
Published: November 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I awoke on Sunday morning to snow on the ground in Calgary! I thought I would escape from it all, but no such luck. My last day in the City was spent with close friends and running a few errands. The next morning it was time to head out of Calgary, it was a chilly -13! I packed up the last of my belongings in my Jimmy and said goodbye to Misha. That was tough. She couldn’t figure out why all our stuff was gone and I was leaving without her. I closed the door and fought the urge to go back in for one last cuddle. I headed over to my friend Ashlin’s where she made me breakfast before sending me on my way. Stopping to take a few pictures of winter and the mountains, I hit the road. With tears in my eyes, and looking back in the rear view mirror, I was sad, but so excited. That was short lived when I look ahead to see a RCMP waiving me over. Crap! Speeding ticket. I was just slowing down too, as I just thought, wow is it every icy out! He never cut me a break, even after my Australia story, could he not see the tears in my eyes! Oh well, keep on keeping on…I was on my way to Drayton where I would spend the next 5 days. My truck looked like I had been 4x4ing all day long, the roads were so sloppy. The next five days were filled with tying up loose ends, visiting family, friends and a few tears. I repacked my backpack and got it at least 5 pounds lighter. That thing is freakin heavy! It will be a good workout that is for sure. Friday was my last day in the Drayton area, I was heading to Victoria, BC to visit my Best Bud Kelly and her husband Alex. Friday morning it started snowing again. Giving ourselves lots of time, Mom drove me to the Edmonton airport to catch my flight. It was an emotional goodbye but she is very happy and excited for me. Everyone has been so supportive of my adventure.
Friday I got into Victoria around 5:30 pm. I arrived to grey skies and rain. It has been raining here off and on all weekend, but I still love it here. The whole atmosphere is so relaxed and la-de-da. So different from the fast past environment of Calgary and … no snow!!! Friday we went out and got a little crazy. It’s fun partying in a place that you don’t really know anyone, you tend to let loose a little more…hehehe. I think I may have a job with the City of Victoria as their official sign carrier. We walked around Downtown Victoria today, where Alex has the mishap of being hit by a car, backing up! OMG it was so funny! I remised about the scene in Elf where he gets creamed by the taxi cab and rolls over the front of the car. Kelly's reaction...what are you retarded? It’s Sunday night and it’s raining again, but it is still warm outside. Kelly is knitting some mitts while I update my blog and Alex is taking a nap. Not sure what’s on the agenda tonight, but tomorrow I get my hair done and my tattoo touched up. I can’t believe it’s almost time! Wednesday afternoon I head into Vancouver and Thursday I am off to warmer weather, sun, sand, surf, and beach!



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



6th November 2006

GIVER'
A good old red neck "GIVER" to you Sis. Spend all your money and don't look back... have fun!
7th November 2006

Thanks Bro! I will GIVER as hard as I can!

Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0207s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb