Two Days Left in Cowtown!


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Calgary
October 28th 2006
Published: October 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I am taking the chance and following the voices that call me to distant places. A new adventure, my life on my back, and my inanimate travel buddie, I am almost ready to head out.

So I finally packed my pack. It is pretty full and I will have to repack it about 5 more times to get it right. I do have everything in it I want to take, but chances are there are a few things I don’t need to take and can live with out. I don’t think I really need that 6 pairs of pants, and 12 tops. I am headed to the beach so it should be filled with bikinis and suntan lotion, what else do I really need?

I thank Lindsey and Mike for opening up their home to Misha and I. Lindsey and I have been friends since we were 5, we grew up together in Drayton Valley. Lindsey will be taking care of my dear Misha "Muffin" while I am away. I couldn't have found a more caring and loving cat person to look after her. Misha has adjusted to her new home very well and will be very happy there.

Last night I had a small gathering of close friends for a Bon Voyage party. It was such a blast. We went to Earls Downtown to eat and then over to Fuel. A friend and favourite Calgary Dj Cary Chang spins there on the weekends. He dusted off some golden oldies just for me, what a sweetheart. Now I sit and reflect on my years past in Calgary. Wow, I have such amazing friends here. I wish I could pack you all up and take you with me. It’s hard saying good-bye, up-root everything, and head out on your own to places that are so far away from what you know and are comfortable with. It’s all very exciting, somewhat scary and humbling all at the same time.

Calgary has been my home for the past 8 years. I have had such a great time in Calgary. The memories and friendships I have made I will always cherish. Not sure if I will be back to Calgary to call it “home” again, well I guess it will always be home, just not sure if my heart will want to rest here again. But you never know….if there is one thing I have learned it’s never say never…..


Advertisement



29th October 2006

gonna miss ya lady
I'm so sorry that we just became friends after being in the same circle of ppl for 5 years. Now that i know and love you, your leaving :(. I wish you nothing but the best on your travels and hope that all your dreams for being 'down-under' come full speed. Maybe I can convince Kevin to go over for a holiday and we can meet up!!! Love ya and take care of yourself!!! xoxoxo Katiek
30th October 2006

You little sh*t
I just read your first post and for Pete's sake I'm trying not to cry. I'm so excited for you and sad at the same time in a kind of selfish way, I wish we could've hung out more before you left. Of course Misha and I will post messages (Misha Mail) on your blog every day - what she kicked over, knocked off the self, eaten that she wasn't supposed to, whether she's still plotting my death - all that fun stuff. I'll take good care of her for you. I know Australia will be the most amazing adventure for you. I figure, if you can survive Drayton, the land down under will be a breeze. So, when I come visit you next fall to excape freezing my Canadian ass off, I expect to find you living in a fab beach house totally OC style, with bleach blonde dreds and a discreetly-placed tattoo of the name of your hot new Aussi surfer/rich banker boyfriend!! I love you girl, take care of yourself. Watch out for the box jellyfish and hungry-looking dingos. Linds. Meow meow meow (that's from Misha)
30th October 2006

Linds! You make me laugh so much! I'll miss you girl!
30th October 2006

Love you too Katie! Keep that Kev in line. And you know what, I think my brain was actually right at Shambhala...damn body rejecting the brain. hehehe
30th October 2006

Focus Misses Ya
Good Luck girlie! We all miss you here!
1st November 2006

Bon voyage
Its too bad I didn't get to say a proper bon voyage but at least I made it here. Be aware of your surroundings. I wish nothing but the best for you on this new adventure! Good Luck and keep us posted!!!!!
1st November 2006

Disco Brent
Ya you bastard, partying more important hey??? Just kidding, so was mine, LOL! I want you to send me lots of pictures of Disco Brent!
2nd November 2006

See ya in Six Months. I will be thinking of you soaking in the sun whilw I'm frezzing my ass off. Much Love!
2nd November 2006

GOOD LUCK
I'm sorry I never got to say good bye in person but you will always be in my thoughts.I can't wait to here about your adventures, the people you meet,the sights you will see,the people you will fall in love with, the hard times you might have to face but I know you can face anything that comes your way. YOUR ONE BRAVE SOUL!!!! xoxoxoxoxox
4th November 2006

leaving in one hour to pick you up
Woohooo you are almost here Victoria that is, I am so excited and sad all at the same time, we are going to have a kick ass time and I can't wait to get rowdy with you this weekend love you lots and see you soon
5th November 2006

la la
hi janine! it's strange to think that you are actually gone already and the trip has begun! keep us updated, and tell us about your adventures. i look forward to hearing about it! travelling is one of the best things you can do for yourself imho!! yay!

Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0681s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb