Back to the Grind, but FIRST, a Migraine!


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Vancouver Island » Tofino
December 13th 2016
Published: June 2nd 2017
Edit Blog Post

We woke up very early the next morning as planned, just in case the road conditions were as bad as they were when we drove in a few days prior. From the weather reports, we were pretty sure it would be okay but we just couldn't count on it. We left at 5am, our flight out of Sydney was at 1:30pm.

It was still dark out when we checked out of the hotel. I didn't think about how short the daylight hours are when I planned this trip, so I didn't think about Chris' migraines and driving on dark, curvy roads. The roads, thankfully, weren't covered in snow, though there was still a ton of snow on the sides. So we were able to drive much faster. I kept thinking we'd be able to stop somewhere for breakfast but there was literally nothing that we could find anywhere, not even in Port Alberni. So we had to keep driving in the dark. By the time we hit Cathedral Grove, Chris had a migraine going. Since we had made great time, we just pulled over into the parking lot and sat there for almost an hour while the sun slowly rose. I read my book while he rested. If he closes his eyes, drinks water and pounds some headache meds, he can often pull out of the migraine. At least long enough to get somewhere he doesn't need to move anymore. Me driving instead of him driving actually makes it worse so that wasn't an option either.

After awhile he felt better enough to drive again, thankfully. And the sun was up, too. So we continued down the road until just before Nanaimo where we finally found some breakfast. It had started to snow again. We didn't have the luxury of eating somewhere that wasn't a chain, and this place looked like the Canadian equivalent of a Denny's or IHOP back home. I'd eaten so much rich food and drinks the past couple days that all I wanted was hangover food anyway. The waitress brought my eggs and my "toast mountain" as she called it. It was exactly what I wanted. =)

The rest of the drive was pretty uneventful. We made it to Sydney an hour before our flight was scheduled to leave. Long enough for me to pick up a couple souvenirs for my parents for watching the baby all weekend. We made our two flights with much less turbulence. =)

Absolutely loved this trip!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0343s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb