Lazy Hazy Crazy Days


Advertisement
Published: June 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Schooners CoveSchooners CoveSchooners Cove

Typical boardwalk throughout the area. Lots of stairs and big trees!
Ahhhh...lazy days. Sometimes they are just what a body needs.

Looking over my last few entries, I have come to the conclusion that they are actually pretty boring. So I am going to try my hardest to make this one witty and amusing and just about the best damn blog you've ever read. I'm a little worried thouh, because I might just find out that in reality I am not that witty of a person, like I like to think of myself as.

Let me start out by saying that I think Jeannie might just be loving this trip mainly for the fact that I have had no voice the whole time. She is loving this larangitis (sp?) thing. The only drawback is that it comes with furious fits of coughing spells that last about3 minutes and sound VERY sexy. I am sure to pick up a man here hawking up mucous and sounding like a dying frog.

Yesterday afternoon we went on a small hike to Schooners Cove, which took us to a little bay on the north end of Long Beach. It was a lovely boardwalk in through the rainforest, where we saw some of the
Halfmoon BayHalfmoon BayHalfmoon Bay

It was a pretty steep descent down (which means an even steeper ascent up!) but well worth it.
huge cedars this place is famous for. The coolest thing was when we saw a fallen tree with other trees growing out of the deadfall. Bizarre! It was a lovely little walk, topped off with dinner at the best fish and chips place I have ever had, bar none. We ate enough for four people, but damn it was good.

Today we went to my favorite place by far, Halfmoon Bay near Florencia Bay. Another walk through the rainforest, then a very deep descent to a small secluded little beach. We ended up just sitting there for an hour. Ty was hysterical. He kept trying to chase the waves down, then would bark and bark at them, then run like mad when a new tide came in. Funny! After that we went to Flo Bay (if I call it Flo I sound like a local) which was not worth the effort. We stayed long enough for the dog to get a drink of fresh water then left.

The afternoon was spent mosying around Tofino, with a stop at the bakery for PB and chocolate bars (it's damn near impossible to stay on any good healthy eating plan when
Chesterman BeachChesterman BeachChesterman Beach

Where the ocean meets the mountains
your away from home!) and an trip to Long Beach to watch the surfer dudes. The surf was huge today! Now we are back at the campsite, preparing for the long trip home tomorrow. Sad but true. One thing I can say for sure is that I can't even wait to sleep in my own bed again!

Love to all friends and family,

Cathy

(Hmmmm....still not that witty. I will have to continue working on that)


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

MaKenzie BeachMaKenzie Beach
MaKenzie Beach

This is the beach that the campground was situated on.


13th June 2006

UGHhhhhh!! Hawking Mucous!!
Nope, not witty, but gross YES!!! We really did not need to hear about the hawking mucous!!! That is totally gross, thank you very much. I know that when you are feeling better and get your voice back your witt will also return! Glad your having fun! Love Mom

Tot: 0.169s; Tpl: 0.037s; cc: 17; qc: 76; dbt: 0.0706s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb