There's no place like home


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Princeton
June 14th 2006
Published: June 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Perfect sunsetPerfect sunsetPerfect sunset

Beer and sunset on MaKenzie beach
Well, after another 11 hour day our little party of four made it home safe and sound. We started to break camp in the pouring rain at 6:00am (way too early!) and actually made it out of the campground at 7:00. Record time! The early morning was worth it when we realized we would make the 10:30 ferry and knock off 4 hours of travelling time. Halleighluah! What a relief that was. The ferry gods were looking down upon us again. Sometimes I really like those ferry gods. Only just sometimes though.

The rest of the drive was wet and dreary, but perfect for travelling. No sun glaring in the wee one's eyes. We saw three bear on the way home. Big, beautiful, healthy bears. Not at all like the dumpster diving bear we saw in Ucluelet, who was so scrawny and shaggy. It was quite clear he was a garbage bear. He obviously wasn't getting enough of the four food groups. I think those Uclutians eat all of the breads and cereal group, because they are a pretty active bunch.

Other than the wildlife the trip was pretty uneventful. I spent half of last night up hacking up a lung, and still don't have any voice. Jeannie drove the whole way here. Needless to say we are both a little beyond tired. It will be good to sleep in a soft bed tonight. Well, Jeannie and Keira will enjoy my bed. Ty and I will enjoy the couch. It's still softer than the back of the 4-runner. I think a bed of nails would seem softer than the 4-runner right now. I don't think my wittiness improved much this entry. Much too fatigued. Or maybe my worst fears have come true, and I am not at all funny and witty. ACK! Too frightening to think of, that I may be one of those people who laugh at their own jokes.

I have updated previous entries with photos, so hope you all enjoy. Here's a few to leave you off with.

Hugs and kisses,
Cathy



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Beach lifeBeach life
Beach life

Jeannie and Keira at Fletchers cove


14th June 2006

Home Sweet Home
if you think it's good to get home after a five day trip, what are you going tobe like when you return from Thailand? WOW! You sure had a great time. Nice PICS!! Love Mom
21st June 2006

i think you are!
Ok so I'm a little late on this whole travel blog thing, but I finally made it here! It's pretty cool how i can track you down when you're hours and hours away! Oh and the whole witty thing you have been talkin about, I think you still got it. But maybe that's because you're my sister and I laugh at you all the time. oops...did that just come out?! I'm just kiddin! I'm glad to see you had an awesome time and I have decided that since you've been there 2X now, it's my turn to go!!!!! Love you lots Laura
2nd October 2006

Only three more weeks!!!!!!!
3 weeks till you fly away like a bird! WOW! How the time has flown! I wanted to put a picture of Ty on here so you wouldn't forget him, but I see you already have him on your blog entries so you can just go back and look at him whenever you want! Now you just have to add me and Laura so you won't forget us either. I am very excited for you, as well as a wee bit frightened and a lot jealous! Love MOM

Tot: 0.256s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 17; qc: 79; dbt: 0.2131s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb