Tofino paradise


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Vancouver Island » Tofino
February 16th 2010
Published: February 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Well, after a 8 hour journey and 5 hours of sleep later, I'm safely ensconced with best bud Russ. Haven't seen each other in years, so it's kinda epic to catch up. I thought I was surrounded by beauty in Whistler--I was wrong. This place tops it times ten, and although I knew that was going to happen, it's still pretty breath-taking.

Hiked down to Radar Point where stuff was all set up in WWII for imminent attack and stepped in the Pacific Ocean for the first time in my life! Pretty incredible stuff. Water was cold, and I'm beginning to wonder how I'll fare tomorrow when we go surfing. *Please to note, I will be doing this for the first time, so am not expecting any miracles from myself!*

However much I love being in Whistler and amongst all the Olympic madness, it's nice to be away for a bit. Quiet is good, and I think I've been needing it.

As always, I am late in putting up pictures....hoping to remedy that soon, no worries.

Scotland is a funny little memory that keeps coming back to me....the mountains here remind me of being up in the highlands, although ocean and lochs do not compare to each other, and that changes everything. I'm a little concerned that I might be at a point in my life when I want to wake up to this kind of stuff and be in this environment (broad term)....

Advertisement



16th February 2010

Say "hi" to Russ for me. At which hotel is he working? Is it the Wickaninish Inn?

Tot: 0.374s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0514s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb