Towels and Tanktops


Advertisement
Published: May 29th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well hello there guys and gals.
How's everyone doing? I don't know why I asked that because there is no real way for you to tell me how you are at this moment, well, I guess you could leave a comment telling me how you're doing, ah well. So as you can see by my location I have relocated myself to the lovely town of Tofino. I arrived here yesterday by bus and was feeling so awful that I checked into a motel and didn't leave for the rest of the day. Pretty lame I know, but I was feeling -that- awful. So yes, I guess I should get on with my update. Let me see, where was I last time... Oh yes, I believe the last time I wrote in here I was in Courtenay and I was more or less just milling about. Well a bunch of things have happened since then. Just where to start... Well, ok, last I mentioned I was camping just a mear 10 hour walk outside of Courtenay. The next day I checked out of that campsite and hopped on a bus headed north to a lovely provincial campground called Miracle Beach. Unfortunately I did infact have to bus as I am not able to walk far anymore. After my past experiences with walking I think I did something really rough to myself. The tendens in the back of my ankles have become unbelievabley weak and painful. It hurt to walk just across the campsite. Everytime I move my ankle I can actually feel something weird grinding in my tenden area. So now I am limited to approximately 3 hour walks before I have to stop for a longtime to regain strength in my ankles. So that puts a huge screw in my plans of walking everywhere. Also it's been super-ultra-mega cold outside at nights to the point where I tie towels and articles of clothing to my body to stay somewhat warm so that makes in impossible for me to use my wicked-cool hammock to sleep in the trees. That's another mega-bummer. As well, money isn't holding out as greatly as I was hoping so I have to put some major adjustments in my trip. So in short, with all these complications my trip is being reduced from a month long excursion to two and half weeks. Boourns Anyhoo. I don't have much more time on this internet thing now, so I've gotta get on with the update.
So yes, I made it to Miracle Beach and set up basecamp. They totally had a shower station, so I totally made use of that and gave my dirty frail body a good scrubdown. Turns out I didn't have as much of a tan as I thought I did. There wasn't much in the area to do, such as towns and stuff. The only thing that was local was a grocerystore that was 2 hour walk there and back. By that point I was grossly sick of eating nothing but pepperettes and granola so I went and grabbed a sweet potato, a cucumber and a couple apples. Delicious! Man, I love Gala Apples. There ain't nothing better. So I walked back to camp and set up a lovely lovely campfire to cook my sweet potato. Just for future reference for all of you, if you're gonna roast a sweet potato over a fire it takes around an hour and a half. So bring snacks... Also for future reference for all of you, deer like sweet potato. Midway through cooking I guess a deer picked up on the scent of my oh-so-amazing sweet potato and wanted some of the action. So here's how it went down. I'm sitting at the picnic table, it's dark, I'm talking to myself again, and there's a good sized campfire going with a sweet potato on the grill. There's a rustle in the bushes. I panic, I grab my axe and draw my knife.
From the bushes: "Whoa whoa whoa man, don't worry it's just me."
Andrew: "Me? Who the hell is me?"
From the bushes: "You know, just me. A deer."
Deer emerges from bushes
Andrew: "What do you want?"
Deer: "I want your sweet potato."
Andrew: "Hells no."
Deer: "Come on."
Andrew: "No!"
Deer: "Give it!"
Andrew: "Make me!"
And it proceeded from there. I chased him off and gave him none of my sweet potato. Once it finished cooking it turns out it was half rotten. I ate it anyways and it was still delicious.
The next day I made a day trip to Campbell river.
I'm gonna cut it off there because I have to get off the computer now.
Oooooh cliffhanger!
*Tune in next time for more Amazing Adventure of the DBA TOUR 2007*
Alright, so I'll try and update soon.
I've gotta go on my whale watching tour now!
Till next time folks!

-Andy

Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0444s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb