End of the Road, but Still Plenty to Update


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Nelson
June 12th 2007
Published: June 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well, it's been a bit too long since I've been able to update. I last left off talking about my experiences in the forests with deer and day trips to Campbell River. Alot has happened since then. I've been through Tofino, en route to Nanaimo, and then southbound to Victoria. From there I high-tailed it back across the interior of Bc to Nelson, my previous home. So that's where I am currently, but I've still much to report.
I think I left on a cliff hanging note about my day trip to Campbell River. So I guess I'll start from there!
The morning after the whole crazy deer experience, I woke up plenty early and proceeded to walk an hour and a half to the nearest bus stop which would bring me north to the town of Campbell River. It was lovely good fun. I believe it was 11:30am when I reached the bus stop. The bus was supposed to arrive roughly around 11:58am. During which time i somehow managed to make friends with a drunk hippie carrying a 24 pack of beer. He told me all types of crazy stories of him hitch hiking around Bc. Stories from meeting wicked nice people to stories of how people chased him into the forest with baseball bats wanting to kill him. We had a good talk. I guess he enjoyed my company so much that he deemed myself worthy of sharing his loot of beer with me. so 11:45 am rolls around and I find myself sitting at a bus stop in the middle-ish of nowhere drinking beer with a hammered hippie. Very interesting. So on with the day. The bus showed up, and I was slightly dizzy from the beverages that I can oh so quickly consumed, and I continued my journey to Campbell River. The scenery was to die for the entire way. It was a slightly over cast day with pockets of sunlight peering through the clouds every so often. The entire journey was all along the coast of the island so all I could see was water and then the mighty Rockies in the background across the Georgia Straight (I'm pretty sure that's what it's called). Once I got there, the weather took a turn for the worst. The slightly overcast day turned into a full overcast day with (instead of pockets of sunlight) dreary, dark clouds over looking the city. No rain yet though. So I started my day trip through the city. It's a neat place. Bigger than the other towns I had been to, with much more to see and do, but I was on a bit of a time frame. I headed to the north part of town where I was advised to check out the local shopping center which boasted many interesting first nations trinkets and art works. That was a good time, except for the fact that I couldn't exactly afford anything. But never the less they had some really interesting things. Afterwards I realized that I probably should have gone to the museum first. I mostly went to Campbell River to see the museum because I heard they had a pretty rad First Nations Exhibit. The reason why I believe that I went to the wrong side of town first is because I had to backtrack like an hour to goto the museum. Mind you, it was probably a good thing that I went about my day like that because while I was in the museum it rained like a mutha fudda outside, at least that's what the lady at the desk told me. No, she did not say mutha fudda. The museum was really really cool. The First Nation Exhibit was definitely worth seeing. There were also exhibits pertaining to Campbell Rivers history (obviously). It was a huge fishing town, and a big base in the Bc forest industry. Well, alot of coastal cities were big bases for the Bc forest industry. Anyhow, it was an awesome museum and I've got tons of photos. Afterwards, my time in Campbell River had come to an end. I had to catch the last bus back to my campsite. Once I got back to the campsite it started to rain. Luckily I had grabbed myself a book of Sudoku and a couple of beers. So I guess my evening of sitting in the tent was set. I dunno, well, it sounded fun at first, but then after about4 hours of sitting in the tent playing with numbers and indulging in a few beverages I guess I finally got my first real bout of loneliness. So I figured the only real way to conquer that was to invent myself a friend. His name was Professor Bombardier. He wasn't actually a professor as his name would suggest. He was actually a student attending the Academy of Misguided Attention. He had some terrible ADD. It was quite hard to talk to the fellow. You know, with his, "Oh look at that!" and his "Ooh shiny". But nevertheless he was still my only friend at that moment. I could have potentially made the deer that I previously chased off my friend, but he was a selfish jerk. Well, maybe I was the selfish jerk seeing as how I wouldn't share my sweet potato with him. Oh well though. After a few hours it was definately time to turn in for the evening. It didn't look like the rain was going to let up so I figured sleep was the best alternative to inventing friends. The next day didn't prove to be as exciting as the previous. It was to be my last day at the Miracle Beach Campsite. The next day I was bound for Tofino. It was going to be a pain in the ass making my way to Tofino because I would have to catch a bus from my campgrounds at 6:45am and make it to Courtenay before 9:30am to catch a Greyhound bus to Tofino. So the whole day consisted of me just hanging around and hiking through the forest in the area. That was fun. But then I got to thinking. If I have to catch a bus to Courtenay at 6:45am, how the hell am I going to be ready? I'm going to have to take down my tent and get all my stuff packed up at a disgusting time in the morning. So I came up with a BRILLIANT plan. Before it got dark that evening, I took down my tent, and packed my bag entirely. So now all I had to do was wait. I had to wait from roughly 8pm to 6:45am to catch the bus. But man oh man, it sure is cold at night, so I figured I would make a stockpile of firewood for the evening and just purely sit up ALL night by the fire until I had to leave in the morning. Sounded like a good idea in theory right? Nope! At around 3am, I was bored as shit, and freezing because I had run out of firewood. What a bad idea. What a bad bad bad idea. So the only thing I could do besides freeze to death was to grab all my stuff and make my way to the shower station of the campsite. I made it there and locked myself in and slept in a shower stall until 6am. well, not really slept. I shivered for awhile and stood under the hand dryer from time to time. I didn't want to wake anybody up, so I didn't turn the hand dryer on too often. But man. Stupid stupid idea. Anyhoo, after what felt like the longest night 6am finally rolled around and I caught my buses to Tofino.
What a lovely end to a story. That's where I'm going to leave it for now.
I'm feeling exhausted from all this thinking and typing.
So yeah, I guess I'll try and update again soon.
Talk to yalls layter!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.13s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0912s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb