Enter the Forest


Advertisement
Published: May 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well hello there humans.
I thought it would be alot longer before I was able to make a real update, but it turns out there is a pretty inexpensive internet café in a town called Courtnay which is next door to Comox. There isn't all too much to report yet. So I guess I'll go with what I've got so far. The airplane trip wasn't bad. Actually it was pretty nice. It was clear skies for most of the flight. So I could see most of the ground from the airplane. Those things sure do fly high. Once I landed I got off the plane and grabbed my bag. Once I did that I immediately regretted packing so much stuff. Hopefully once I eat all my food it'll be a bit lighter. I'm not sure what's so heavy in there, but there sure is something that's packing some weight to it. Anyhoo, I grabbed some maps from the info booth and headed out of the airport. Once I got out there I got my bearings and planned my route to my campsite. I had it all set and I was ready to go. I started walking with a skip in my step and then *honk honk*. I turn around and a car is stopped behind me with some guy hanging out the window.
"Where ya going?" he asked.
"Kin Beach Park" I replied.
"Hop in." he said.
I had a quick memory shoot through my head about how my mother always always always told me never to get into a strangers car, and other memories of her telling me not to ever hitch a ride.
"Ok"
I threw my pack in the back and jumped in shotgun.
So we drove down the road in search of my campsite. In the time I learned that he sold hottubs in Parksville, and amusingly enough he attended M.M Robinson, Lester B. Pearson, and Central highschool. (For those of you who are not native to Burlington, those are schools in the area). So I found it quite funny that he grew up in Burlington. Well, after all that, we found my campsite and he let me off, gave me his card and told me if I was ever in Parksville and needed anything to give him a call. I thought that was darn decent. See Mom? Taking a ride from a stranger did nothing but benefit me. 😊 So I continued on with grabbing a campsite. I got a nice secluded and spacious site. It's kinda funny because I have this huge site and just a little tent popped up in the middle of it. Once I got my site all organized (put up my tent) I decided that it would be a good idea to check out town and see what's around.
...
...
...
Turns out the first town (Comox) (which has NOTHING of interest in it, nor much of anything at all) is a 2 hour walk away from my campsite. The next town over (Courtnay) is actually around a 5 hour walk away. Let me tell you... My feet have never hurt so much. Walking for roughly 12 hours (5 hours there, 5 hours back, and 2 hours around town) really takes a toll on your legs and feet. I've got some pretty rough blisters to prove it. I had to gauze one up this morning to make it not hurt. Also, on my way back to my campsite (probably after 10 hours of walking) my ankles gave out and I kinda took a tumble. I guess they're kinda weak now. I had to wait about half an hour before they would let me stand up again. (Don't worry Mom, after a good nights sleep and some granola I was good as gold. I had to walk back into town again the next day and I was all good by then) The next day when I was in town I decided to check out the local transit system. Booyah! Bus goes right by my campsite. I didn't notice because it was a holiday when I got there and didn't see any buses going about. So now I'm going to use the transit system to get back and forth. But it doesn't do me much good now because tomorrow I'm heading out of my current campsite and moving to a new one 24km north of here. It's called Miracle Beach. I'm going to spend the weekend there relaxing on the beach and just plain old hanging out. The campgrounds offer kayaking, windsurfing, hiking trails, and fishing. So I guess I've got plenty of things to choose from to kill time. Today I haven't done too much. I walked around Courtnay and took a bunch of photos and explored the harbours and airfields and such. Now I'm here at a decent internet café typing away. After this I'm going to grab some somewhat real food and then head back to my campsite via bus.
So I guess that's it for now. Nothing too crazy to report. Sure a couple rough things have happened, but it's all good. I don't regret a single second yet. Along with those rough patches a whole bunch of good things happened too. So I guess it's all evening out in the end.
Well, I'm off!
Till Next Time!

-Andy

Advertisement



Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0693s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb