Sundance Meadow


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Vancouver Island » Duncan
November 15th 2013
Published: November 19th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Today is a rainy day so I’m taking a little bit of time to update my blog while I’m enjoying a nice cup of tea.

I’ve arrived at the Sundance Meadow farm on Friday afternoon and am settling in very well. Not difficult as the family and all the animals, which you’ll see on picture, are so welcoming.

The farm is situated in the middle of the woods not far from Duncan where I stayed last week. If I had to describe it, I would say it’s a lively, happy little farm totally in harmony with the nature. All is respected and kept in order so the nature (wild animals, trees, plants...) finds its space.

I’ve started work on Saturday morning and I think I’m not doing too bad ! But as Gwen & Brant will read this blog, I’m sure they will quickly let me know if they aren’t happy with something.

Even if it’s a little farm they is always something to do. The day starts by lighting my fire in the barn so I can keep warm when I’m inside, then feeding the animals and then planning my day as I want with the various tasks they is to do.

So until now, I have unloaded wood, scraped all the leaves in front of the house, cleaned the chicken’s hen and today started clearing Goaty’s and Shep’s yard and doing a little bit of gardening.

Every evening I enjoy excellent vegetarian & gluten free dinners (I will get the recipes) and have very nice conversations with the family about their wild adventures, that could never happen to us in Europe !!

It has been beautiful weather until today and I’m sure it’s much warmer than in France or England, believe it or not but it’s not that cold over here, not worse than our winters.

Only one thing that could have made me want to leave, I discovered that around the farm were bears and cougars. But nothing to be afraid of (as Gwen & Brant say), they is no danger, not worse that our snakes ! So maybe I’ll finally get to have a picture of a real bear !! Don’t count too much on it, still think that if I saw one I would slowly head back home.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 9; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0488s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb