July 8, 2009


Advertisement
Published: July 9th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Day 38. 12,475Km
I was'nt sure if I would make it to Vancouver or not today. I thought I might end up camping on the main land and crossing in the morning. I was on the road by 10.30 so I started thinking I could make it. I did'nt have anything to eat before I left camp so I was getting hungry by lunch. I stopped at the A&W in Princeton and had an Uncle burger. The weather was gloomy and there were a few showers here and there but no major downpours. Once I reached Chilliwack, which by the way is basically at sea level, I knew I was re-entering civilization. I saw tall buildings again. It's a pretty busy road from there to Vancouver. I can see it expanding from four to six lanes before too long. I arrived at the ferry terminal shortly after 16.00 knowing there was a 17.20 crossing. The girl at the toll gate told me there might be a problem. A problem getting on the 17.20 I asked? Yes. I got in line and waited. There is only so many spots for tall vehicles and trucks and busses are smart enough to book ahead. The guy in front of me got on. The next ship was at 19.30 but it was late so we pulled out of the dock at 20.00. No to waste time I opened the ramp and cleaned the bike while I was waiting. The folks behind me came back to their truck after a bit and we got to talking. He and his wife were moving to the island. She was their friend who came to the main land for an appointment. I asked if she knew if there was WiFi on the ship. She said "yes, there are special areas". Well, there are small computer desks with electrical outlets but no internet access.
One advantage of getting on the ferry first of course is getting off first. I fueled up in Nanaimo and headed up or over to Courtenay. I'm not sure if it's extra dark here or if it's because I have not driven at night for a while but it sure seemed dark. The sky was cloudy so I suppose that made it even darker.
I arrived at Bob's just after 23.00 to a warm welcome and after a few unsure minutes Tika the Norwegian Elkhound even warmed up to me.


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

North VancouverNorth Vancouver
North Vancouver

not the ocean yet but my first look at water on the West coast
sunsetsunset
sunset

in case you did'nt know


Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0744s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb