The Day After


Advertisement
Published: April 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

In the Tow YardIn the Tow YardIn the Tow Yard

Notice the windows taped up. It blew the front windows on the top out as well as the side window on the right,
Well, I dreamed about having an accident last night! No surprise there. I guess I am still in shock. I waited most of the day for the tow truck company owner and another mechanic to look at my rig and see if it was salvageable. The determination was no. Also, the owner of the tow company called around to see if he could find another small rig for me to buy, but was unsuccessful.

As a result of the above I rented a U-haul truck down the street from the tow lot and drove back to my rig and off-loaded all that I could. some silverware and knives had fallen down between the drawers and were unaccessible to me with the arms I have, but I believe I found most everything else. The one thing I never found was my reacher that I got after my knee surgery, but I'll just have to buy another one one of these days.

Few things were broken. Those of you that know me well, know that I put things in things. That is a very good thing! Because, if something broke, it was only the other thing that broke. The inner thing
AC destroyedAC destroyedAC destroyed

I didn't get very good pictures. I meant to take more, but it took about 3 hours to move everything out and I was tired when I got finished. The tow people helped me a lot and I am very greatful for that.
was dirty maybe, but usable. I had some marinated mozzarella balls in a tupperware container in the refrigerator. When the accident happened, even though the refrigerator was locked in closed position, it opened and all of the food was jetisoned! The milk container survived, and most everything else did, but the marination on the cheese flung everywhere. I still have not washed the linens that were on my bed. When I do, I pray the oil will come out! Dog food was all over the place (I'm still finding it in things). I just let it drop out on the floor and Dylan comes along later and cleans it up for me!

We spent a second night in the motel in Prince George. The next day was especially hard on me, because the weather was the same as the day of the accident and I had to get back on the road. It was 10:45 before I finally left the gas station and headed out of town. I suppose I was still in shock. I drove from Prince George to 4km past Pink Mountain that day. That was 365 miles. I wrote the following that night when I got to the end of the day,

I got a room, but it has been snowing. Apparently the road has snow on it west about 30 miles. The snow plows will be out in the morning early, so I will get a report when I wake up. The truck is running well. It started snowing several miles back and I stopped at another place that has not opened for the season. I got stuck a little in the snow there, but got out. The people here are great. This place is 4 km past Pink Mountain. I about died when it started snowing, because it was just like Monday before the accident. I guess the Lord is helping me learn to lean on him more than He has before!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0379s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb