An eventful day


Advertisement
Published: April 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Our second day in Canada, Linda left the motel about 30 minutes before I did. She was going to eat her breakfast while driving and I was eating cereal, so had to eat before getting on the road.

Shortly after we hit the road, the weather turned bad. It started snowing and blowing hard. We encountered a sanding truck in a good spot that was sanding the center line. At 30 minute intervals we both passed him. We were scheduled to meet up in Prince George, BC when we made the turn from Provencial 97 to Provencial 16 heading west. We were on our way to Prince Rupert to catch the ferry to Juneau.

Shortly before Prince George, the road turned icey and I lost control. I almost hit a truck, but managed to miss it and overcorrected. I could not un-overcorrect in time, and drove up over one of those cement dividers (that was on the right side of the road) and Dylan and I in the motorhome, landed on our right side. Because there was a ditch on the other side of the cement divider, the wheels were somewhat in the air, and we destroyed the right side and top of the van including the air conditioner. I bent the frame, the right front wheel and made it inoperable, of course.

Thank the Lord, Dylan and I are fine. I believe our only problems are mental. My fight has been to get in a vehicle and drive (back on icey roads). Dylan would rather be at home, wants to be next to Mom all the time, and pants for a couple of hours most mornings before he calms down.

Well, back to Monday. I was suspended in the air in my seat belts. I have a nasty bruise on my leg from the seat belt. Dylan, had something on top of him, but the first thing I remember after we got stopped was him scratching to get free. I encouraged him and he came right out. Fortunately, I had wrapped everything in the front of the van well, in blankets etc, so I don't even think he got a bruise.

The men in the truck that I almost hit stopped and came to my rescue as soon as they could. The traffic was fierce at that time. Some other men stopped, called the ambulence, etc. One man opened the drivers door and pulled out Dylan's fence which was in the way, and got Dylan out. Then he jumped into the cab to get under me so that when they cut the seat belt I would not fall on my head and my right shoulder. They cut the chest belt, but I was still hanging by the lap belt. That is how I got the larger bruise there! Anyway, they cut it and I fell onto the man that was under me. I'm sure I weigh more than he did. Then he climbed out and they pulled me out. I pushed some by stepping on Dylan's crate and then the seat back.

Another man had his pick-up pulled up just on the other side of the divider, and got me in so I could stay warm. After one of the men walked Dylan, they brought him to me. He just clung to me, bless his heart. Someone had to jump back into the van to get my purse, then I realized my billfold was not there, so they went dumpster diving again and came up with my billfold and my camera to boot!

Of course, the worst part is I never learned the names of any of the men that helped me. I would so love to thank them and let them know that I am fine.

The ambulance took me to the hospital in Prince George. On the way, we looked for Linda's rig, but did not see it. So, it took more than 24 hours before we were able to hook up again. In the mean time, they took me to the hospital to check me over. They kept talking about how sore I would be the next day, but I have not even been sore. I have a couple of scratched areas, back of hands etc., the bruise on my leg but nothing else. I don't think Dylan got a bruise at all. He seems fine, and did not hesitate to do everything he normally does, ie. rolling onto his back wanting his tummy scratched. I have run my hands over his entire body without him complaining, so I think he is fine.

Of course, dogs are not something that a hospital is used to dealing with. But the social worker Brent Goerz and the staff of ER were wonderful. Brent took Dylan to his office and got him some water. A nurse insisted on opening a steril set and getting a stainless bowl out for his water. Brent had planned on getting a kidney shaped bowl (which I would have been pleased with). Dylan stayed there with Brent until I was ready to leave the hospital. The doctor in ER decided that I should have my right shoulder x-rayed to make sure there were no problems (I was complaining of some pain the the arm) with my history of osteo-arthritis. She said it looked fine but just had arthritis in it which I already knew!

They released me and Dylan and I took a cab to a local motel. Brent had given me a Personal Care kit, so the only thing I needed was some food for Dylan. I walked across the street to the grocery store, got the food, came back and went to the restaurant, where I promptly lost it!! I made it all day without a tear until then.

I'll write more later...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0598s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb