July 6, 2009


Advertisement
Published: July 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Day 36. 11,911Km.
I heard the rain when I woke up so I rolled over and went back to sleep. No rush today. By the time I woke up again the run was trying it's best to burn off the clouds. You see, it's all about the bike. If it's keeping dry under the awning why get it wet right?
A quick shower and I was packing up. Just as I moved the trailer to gain access to the back it started to spit. I loaded the bike, got it all tied down and off I went. Good timing too because not five minutes down the road the skies opened up and it lasted a while too. Somewhere around Grand Forks, as you start to climb the next pass, there is a sign stating 'Drastic weather changes possible next ??Km'. They were'nt kidding either. Sun, torrential rain, sometimes with hail stones and a possible micro burst that took down several trees and lay'd a few down on the highway. Some of the more sane drivers stopped but I never proclaimed to be sane.
The drive down the mountain into Osoyoos is one of the best. It is steep and has several 180 degree switchbacks. The view is fabulous but I could'nt get stopped at any of the lookouts. Besides I just had my cell phone for a camera. Once you are in the valley, the Okanagan valley, things look a whole lot different. There are grape vines and fruit trees everywhere. Many many wineries are here. I don't drink but I did recognize the name Inniskillin. Just up the road is Oliver, the self proclaimed wine capitol of Canada. I settled for the night in Penticton at a campground right on the tip of Skaha Lake. I took a ride into town to search for a camera. Staples, Zellers, Wallmart, the Source and finished with my purchase at London Drugs. The weather is supposed to hold for tomorrow so I decided to hang around for a day. I'm hoping to ride back to Osoyoos and up that mountain.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

PentictonPenticton
Penticton

on Lake Skaha
Penticton sitePenticton site
Penticton site

the first picture with the new camera


Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 10; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0418s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb