Just call me Miss Dish


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Lake Louise
October 21st 2006
Published: October 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday was day one of my life as a professional dishwasher. I am working the night shift so I get to roll out of bed around the same time that I did when I didn't have a job. I start at 4pm and work till 1am so at least on my days off I won't be messing with my sleep schedule.
I haven't decided wether or not the job is tolerable yet. You do get extremely dirty and have old food all over you by the end of the first hour but you do pretty much get left alone to do your thing and we also are in the kitchen with the pastry chefs who occassionally give us free baked goods. So i'm thinking cookies trump dirty clothes. I figure by the end of my shift today i'll have everything down to a science. It's very repetitive so i'll pick it up quickly. My first days off are wenesday and thursday I believe so a couple of the people I met in orientation and I plan to do a little hiking. I probably won't write back in this until then because there most likely won't be much to talk about except dirty dishes.
For anyone who wants it I have a mailing address now so just email me and i'll give it to you. You don't understand how jealous I am of people that have gotten mail already hahaha. And mom please send me a package with a big blanket in it soon. It's really cold at night and the wool one isn't cutting it.

Advertisement



22nd October 2006

Blanket
Nanny said they are mean and they should give you an extra blanket. Nanny said she'll write you a letter so your friends don't get more mail than you. Love Nanny PS I'm her secretary cuz Becky has the night off. Love Aunt Janie
22nd October 2006

Dear Dishwasher
Good idea about waiting until the hike to further uupdate us. Anybody who is giving you feedback that the dishwashing updates are real interesting, are lying to you. Unless you're actually picking up Nelson Mandella's or Oprah Winfrey's dishes from their tables.....wh cares. I got your mailing address from Aunt Janie yesterday. As for the comment Mommy send me a blanket it is cold,,,,,,, who would have thought, it would get cold at a ski resort. Love Uncle Mike

Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0864s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb