I live in a kokanee beer bottle label


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Lake Louise
October 20th 2006
Published: October 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hey All! I am finally getting a chance to get to a computer after a busy week of orientation. I arrived on sunday and as we drove closer and closer to Lake Louise the scenry started reminding me more and more of the kokanee beer bottle label. Just mountains everywhere and yes it has been snowing here but just flurries everyday nothing to big. Oh and Aunt Diane you can tell your fellow employees that the lake is all glacier water so you definatley can't swim in it now and in the summer you don't want to be in there for longer then 15 minutes. I've already met a ton of people because of orientation and no one is really local. Lots of people from Ontario (I even met a guy from Whitby AND he went to Anderson) and lots of Aussies. Then there is a few from out east, new zealand, japan and anywhere else you can think of. Since it's only been orientation this week we have been making use of the staff pub, we are allowed at some of the hotel bars and restaurants but we have to behave ourselves then and we can't go if too many people are there. We mostly stick to the tunnels that are under the hotel. That's where are staff cafeteria is and anything we really need anyways. It's taking a while to get use to the tunnels since there are soooo many and I usually end up lost or back to where I started. Everyone assures me that I will get to know them in the next couple weeks but I don't think they know how bad I am with directions.
Now orientation has been like no other orientation i've ever done for a job. We have spent hours upon hours discussing avalanche safety, glacier safety and how not to get eaten by various animals. Don't worry mom they say all of this is very uncommon and we are all now experts on how to avoid all of it.
Today a friend and I went for a run around the lake which was pretty unreal. I still can't believe that this place is my backyard. We plan on climbing our first summit next week when I have a couple days off. It's a mountain right by the hotel which isn't that hard to climb which is good because living up in the mountains take some getting use too. We all are struggling with the thin air right now. Climbing a flight of stairs winded me today and sometimes even talking takes it out of you. We are all getting a little sick too since we are not getting enough oxygen yet and our bodies are not use to it. But what is good about this thin air you ask??? Well it takes you less booze to get drunk! After a few beers on the second night all of us were just done. This is awesome since everything is quite expensive here. Well i'm going to wrap this up now because i'm starving. My first day of actual work starts tomorrow so wish me luck. miss you all!!!!

Advertisement



21st October 2006

behave
i am always watching
21st October 2006

Beautiful
Hi Laura What a beautiful place, so far I have two friends that want to come with me to visit you!!! Don't know if Becky would let me get away without her----guess when they say it "takes your breath away they were serious".....make sure you have enough breath before you start climbing those mountains...lol Love Aunt Janie

Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0284s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1006.9kb