Taiwanese pancakes and the legislature building!


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Edmonton
September 24th 2013
Published: October 1st 2013
Edit Blog Post

Trying something new with a new friendTrying something new with a new friendTrying something new with a new friend

Taiwanese pancakes are delicious, although I'm still quite unsure what they consist of.
My friend Stephen invited me out to get Taiwanese pancakes randomly one day, so I thought, why not. He picked me up and we headed to Whyte ave to where this restaurant called Gara apparently was. (recommended by his friend Ian) We had to go down this back alley and into this weird store that had all sorts of random things. A rack of jewelry, 5 dresses for sale, fish chips, random Asain snacks, a lounge area, and at the very back was a house kitchen. We ordered our pancakes from the menu that was written in a different language and only had the titles of the foods like "golden metal" (how am I supposed to know what that means?). They came out as a little cake that was almost like two crumpets squished together with Carmel and chocolate in the middle, but much, much better. Stephens a really cool kid and has put himself on his own two feet. He loves to long board so he started making his own as a hobby but later signed with land yachtz, and now runs his own business called Cardinal Longboards. This kid can do some pretty crazy things on a piece of
The storeThe storeThe store

I had to take a quick photo of the store so you could understand how random and awkward it truly is
wood (including getting in some major accidents and needing surgery on his shoulder - explains the cast in the photo). After the pancakes we went to the legislature building, a must see if you go to Edmonton, except it was under construction so I couldn't get the entire effect. One thing I have been excited to learn more about on this journey, is religion. And I have met my first victim! Stephen is a Mormon, and has invited me to his church this Sunday, I can't wait.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

The Legislature Building The Legislature Building
The Legislature Building

This building holds great importance to Edmonton and is also a very beautiful landmark. Too bad it didn't look like this when I saw it.


Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0464s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb