Meeting of the Families


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Calgary
August 10th 2014
Published: August 10th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Sean and I are not much for convention and this attitude extended to our marriage. I grew up believing that I would never marry as-even from a young age- I thought the whole institution rather silly. I was never convinced that a piece of paper and an expensive wedding would solidify how I felt about someone. I always believed that if I loved someone and was meant to stay with them, I would. From what I have gathered about Sean from his family, he was much the same.

However- it is also true- that when you meet the right person, you just know. (Before I met Sean, it used to really annoy me when people would say that to me!) Conversations with Sean about marriage came easily and the decision to follow through with it flowed in the same fashion.

We simply woke up one morning and decided to marry.

It was funny. We quickly figured out that we had no idea about how to go about getting married. After a quick Google search, we were surprised to learn that we needed to obtain a marriage license! Anyway, after a bit of running around we managed to get that and had our wonderfully low-key fifteen minute ceremony after I finished work on March 5th. During the following months, we were invited by members of our family and friends for intimate dinners and celebrations. It was really a fantastic way for us to spend quality time with the people we cherish.

However, our lack of a formal wedding was not really conducive to the families getting to meet. We live in Ontario and my immediate family is based in Alberta so it was going to be difficult to bring everyone together. However, we knew that we were coming out to Calgary for Sean's family reunion in August and thought it would be a wonderful time to plan a coming together of the families. Excited, we sent out invitations and made the arrangements for our "quiet wedding" at a restaurant in Calgary. All in all, I would have to say that it went pretty wonderfully. One of the things that I enjoyed the most about watching Sean's and my family meet was the ease with which the conversation flowed.

It was effortless. I actually had time to sit back and take it all in. Sitting there holding Sean's hand, I found myself thinking as I watched the people we love get to know one another that Sean and I have been doubly blessed. First, in finding one another and secondly, in having a family that loves us- in all of our weird and unconventional ways.

Advertisement



14th August 2014

Could it get any better?
Being able to spend more time with Erin these past months and watching her and Sean together, we had no double that our introduction to her family and Erin meeting our huge family in Calgary was going to be a walk in the park. The ease, comfort and love was obvious from both sides. It couldn't have been any better!
21st August 2014

We don't have to be conventional anymore, do we ;)
Your meeting and wedding is so wonderful and cool to read. Yes, the wedding gives a chance for both families to get to know one another ... and perhaps in another era that was more important...? I hear you on being unconventional ;) So happy you two found each other!!! =) I know Sean from helping him buy property in Hawaii. He is one very cool man - he reminds me so much of my brother and both think outside of the box.
22nd August 2014

Aloha Sue! Thanks so much for the thoughts! I am grateful that we had the opportunity to work together on some investments as you have become a good and trusted friend and colleague! I hope we can find some more investments down the road to work on together! In the meantime, let us all break the conventions, have some fun, and explore this crazy life! Chat soon!

Tot: 0.225s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 10; qc: 77; dbt: 0.1352s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb