Child of the Universe


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Calgary
April 14th 2009
Published: April 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

ask yourselfask yourselfask yourself

A painting done by a very special friend of mine with an important message.
“Go placidly amid the noise and haste, and remember what peace there may be in silence. As far as possible, without surrender, be on good terms with all persons. Speak your truth quietly and clearly; and listen to others, even the dull and ignorant; they too have their story.

Avoid loud and aggressive persons; they are vexations to the spirit. If you compare yourself with others, you may become vain and bitter; for always there will be greater and lesser persons than yourself. Enjoy your achievements as well as your plans.

Keep interested in your own career, however humble; it is a real possession in the changing fortunes of time. Exercise caution in your business affairs for the world is full of trickery. But let this not blind you to what virtue there is; many persons strive for high ideals; and everywhere life is full of heroism.

Be yourself.

Especially, do not feign affection. Neither be cynical about love; for in the face of all aridity and disenchantment it is perennial as the grass. Take kindly the counsel of the years, gracefully surrendering the things of youth. Nurture strength of spirit to shield you in sudden misfortune. But do not distress yourself with imaginings. Many fears are born of fatigue and loneliness. Beyond wholesome discipline, be gentle with yourself.

You are a child of the universe, no less than the trees and the stars; you have a right to be here. And whether or not it is clear to you, no doubt the universe is unfolding as it should.

Therefore, be at peace with God, whatever you conceive Him to be. And whatever your labours and aspirations, in the noisy confusion of life keep peace with your soul. With all its sham, drudgery & broken dreams, it is still a beautiful world. Be careful. Strive to be happy.”

Max Ehrmann


I thought for my final entry into this travel blog (for this trip), I think it fitting that my quote be the Desiderata. I had downloaded this verse in a song form and brought it with me on the road. Almost every day that I was in the car on my journey to the next city, park, beach or mountaintop, I would play this song. I didn’t plan it that way. It just happened that when I sometimes switched between playlists on my IPod, this song would happen to be up next. When it was, I listened to it at least once before I moved on to whatever music playlist I was looking for. I must admit, there were times that I listened to the song over and over for at least half an hour. I never grew tired of it.

The more I listened to the verse, the more meaning it gained. It seemed that each time I heard it, a different sentence would stand out and it would have greater relevance. It was as if whatever I was thinking or feeling at that time could be in someway resolved if I took heed of the advice offered by this song.

There were three lines that stood out as having the greatest impact on me and gave me significant guidance:
1. But do not distress yourself with imaginings. Many fears are born of fatigue and loneliness.
2. And whether or not it is clear to you, no doubt the universe is unfolding as it should.
3. And whatever your labours and aspirations, in the noisy confusion of life keep peace with your soul.

Keep peace with your soul. I like that statement. If I had only one word to describe what I gained in the last six months, it would be “peace”. I learned to strive for and embrace peace. I learned how to deal with stress, challenges, and obstacles with peace. Most of all, I made peace with myself … with my soul. I like the person I am inside and accept that I am different and that is ok. There was always this part of me that I kept hidden or I let be seen rarely. While away, I slowly started to accept this part of me and embraced it without guilt.

The painting attached to this blog was done by a very special friend of mine and given to me about a month ago. It had a very clear message for me, as I am sure it did for him and for many others. Free, The New, ask yourself, Are you ready?

My answer is yes.

Think about it ... what is your answer?


Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0369s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb