Thinking of You


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Banff
January 11th 2011
Published: January 11th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Ringing the Church BellsRinging the Church BellsRinging the Church Bells

Almost felt sorry for the neighbours
Well after a very long and slack break from blogging I thought it was time to update everyone back home.

So anyway here is a brief, non-chronological summary of whatever I can remember that I have done in the past couple of weeks.

Well I had my first white Christmas (not all it's cracked up to be - too cold, no pool, blah) but I tried to make the best of it. Me, Fiona and Aileen (Fiona's sister who visited for a while) went to midnight mass on Christmas Eve to sing Christmas carols, better yet we rang the bells at midnight to wake to whole town up (such awesome bells - they make different notes so you can play a tune - I did 'Away in a Manger') Then it was off to bed for a little while then back to church on Christmas Day before ice-skating at the fairmont. After which I cooked my first totally-traditional Christmas dinner with Fiona and Aileen. As we left the grocery shopping until 4pm on Christmas Eve we missed out on a turkey but we made two beautiful roast porks 😊

Between then and NYE it was just a lot of skiing and hanging out because almost nobody is staying at the Banff Centre so there are no rooms to clean (I had 5 days off last week!)

NYE was almost quiet - the entry fee for a club was up to $100 and the pub tickets all sold out, not feeling particularly inclined to wander the freezing streets of Banff looking for a place to party we brought the party to us and hung out in staff housing, watched the fireworks from the roof and met wierd Scottish guys in weird Scottish kilts in MacLab. All in all quite a fun night.

Since then it's been work one day, take 4 off, work one day and so on.

What else have I done.......

I went cross-country skiing,
Toboganning at the fairmont,
Had the work Christmas party,
Got my fringe back,
I met Crazy Larry (the local nutter - great guy though - he makes balloon animals for kids - rumour has it he lives on Rundle Mountain - I think he's secretly a billionaire - where does he get the money for all those balloons from?)

And well that's all I can remember that is worth repeating. Thinking of you back home with the floods - hope it goes down soon.


Additional photos below
Photos: 30, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Aileen and I Aileen and I
Aileen and I

Beautiful day @ Sunshine Village
BowlingBowling
Bowling

No I did not actually drink all those...
Raul and his Magical MoustacheRaul and his Magical Moustache
Raul and his Magical Moustache

The Magical Moustache is finally gone by the way :)
CRAZY LARRY!CRAZY LARRY!
CRAZY LARRY!

Still at little upset he didn't make ME a balloon animal


3rd March 2011

Okay, your Staff Xmas Photo looks like a family pic of mine! Love you and love the mention!!

Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0219s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb