Cairo to Cape, via Dubai


Advertisement
United Arab Emirates' flag
Middle East » United Arab Emirates » Dubai
May 11th 2007
Published: May 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Tonight is the last night of my training in Dubai.. I was recalled from my travels to be at Dubai for a week of training for my new job, and had been in Dubai since 5th May..

I initially thought that I could catch up with my travel journals when I was in Dubai.. but everyday, after a long day of training.. and going out for dinner and drinks with my new colleagues.. by the time i came back to the room, i was very tired already... so no updates till now.. there are still 2 journals that i wanted to enter: 1) trip to Nairobi National Park and 2) Lake Naivasha and Hell's Gate National Park.. as i was writing the journal for Lamu. i realized that i've lost a bit of the feelings i had.. so i guess journals are best written when you still have a little bit of feeling for it.. otherwise it feels more like handing in homework.. take my 3 days in crossing the desert in Sudan.. i still owe myself those entries.. but now too lazy to go back and write them.. so i guess i'd log my dubai leg of the journal now.. before playing catch up loses the emotinos in the words..

i think lamu is to be blamed partly for my tardiness in this travel blog.. it's like.. after lamu.. i became a little lazy to do many things.. i've stoppped tabulating my expenses every night for one.. i've stopped waking up at 530am to try to catch sunrises.. i think the lamu-ness in me is growing.. just want to sit .. fold my legs.. and connect my thumbs with my middle fingers and close my eyes and "Ohm... ohm.. " the ultimate being of zuo-boness.. (zuobo = singapore hokkien slang for the art of perfectly doing nothing at all)

training ended this morning.. i'm staying one more night and wil be flying back to Nairobi to carry on my journey to Cape Town.. Cairo to Cape via Dubai.. what a twist! haha..

Training in Dubai has been great.. the training was useful.. and i get to use my brain again.. it was tough adjusting back to quasi-work conditions.. i also had a taste of the comfort of city life again.. maybe tasted too much.. getting a bit too comfy to go back to backpacking again.. now just feel like going back to singapore... but no! i must complete the journey! so.. i'll say good bye to my super comfy bed.. my bath tub.. the swimming pool and jacuzzi and sauna and steam bath.. and gosh.. the food.. i've not felt hungry at any time thoughout this entire week! i was constantly eating! in fact.. i ate so much during my first 2 days in dubai (hotel buffets!!!).. that i can feel my stomach being stressed to work very very very very hard.. since day 3.. i've cut down my food intake.. and still feel so full all the time.. yay.. i think my body is accustoming to little food.. does that mean johan will not go back to being fat and chubby again? i certainly hope so..

well.. i'm now glad that i still have one month plus of zuo-boing before i start work... i was feeling a weary from the travels.. but it took just one week of training (and not work) to get me to want to do nothing again! haha.. watching my new colleagues flying back to their respective offices and having to start work on monday (some tomorrow morning).. i felt so grateful i'm going for holiday for another 1 month!

Am glad to meet the new work family.. everyone seems to be nice and can work real well with one another.. so it's good.. and everyone's smart.. and interested in doing their jobs well.. unlike many people in my previous job that just want to float float float and do as little work as possible.. so i'm very much looking forward to working with my new colleagues.. IT'S SO NICE TO WORK WITH YOUNGER PEOPLE AGAIN!!!!! have been working with uncles and aunties for the past 6 years.. phooeey!

did not take a single photo in dubai.. maybe becos i know i'll be coming back and will have sooooooo much time to take photos here.. maybe becos this is work and the trigger bug really dun bite on work trips... dubai is amazing.. i've not see so many skyscrapers being built at the same time.. they are going up by the clusters.. imagine seeing 8 buildings in a cluster with cranes on floors no lesser than the 50th storey going up together.. it's really like an entire city can be buit overnight.. very unreal.. but it's happening here.. .

ah.. it's 10pm.. i've to leave for the airport tomorrow at 745am... 10am flight to nairobi... limited time with nice room.. comfy sheets... and tv in room with movie channels.. the lamu-ness is calling out to me.. ahh... i guess entries on Sudan, Nairobi, Naivasha and Hell's gate will have to wait.. till when? soon soon.. i hope.. inshallah..


Advertisement



Tot: 0.208s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 19; qc: 87; dbt: 0.1138s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb