Bye bye Dubai


Advertisement
United Arab Emirates' flag
Middle East » United Arab Emirates » Dubai
February 4th 2007
Published: February 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I had written a most descriptive entry yesterday and it disappeared into the ether as I was tring to publish it...I'll try again.

I left off blogging when I was preparing to go to Cirque de Soleil .WOW what a show those people put on. The strength ,agility ,control and focus of the performers was amazing. I had never been to one of their performances before and Now I understand why peoople wax eloquent about them . The show was Quilam and there were about 45 performers involved...each more accomplished than the next. The show was more than 2 hours long and I think the 2nd half was even better than the first...It is the first time they have played in the UAE and they were here for the shopping festival. Judging from the crowds they have had I suspect they will be returning.

The next day Lesley and I spent some time in the old gold souk and I was dazzled by the BLING!!!!In Dubai if you are going to do something you do it BIG!!! I kid you not .I have seen some amazing jewelry but alas could only afford earrings that are very modest.
That evening @4 I headed out on a desert safari and had a wondeerful time. We went dune busting...riding in a 4wheel drive with rollbars and large deflated tires up ,down , over and around dunes working our way further up and into the desert until it seemed we were on top of the world ...(about 45 minutes of this) and watched a most amazing sunset over sand and mountains. THe sand itself is quite red and the experience was great, We then headed to the camp through another 40 minutes of desert ,past 2 camel farms and smallish settlements ,for a variety of activities.I rode a camel , had a henna design drawn on my leg and danced with a belly dancer . All this was followed by an excellant supper .My companions for the evening were 5 Persian americans who have relatives in Montreal and Toronto and do busines with oil people in Edmonton...small world ...it really was a lot of fun.

On the weekend we spent an afternoon at a resort and were fortunate to watch a great storm move in over the gulf.I was sitting facing the Burj and inspite of the lightning the helicopters continued arriving and departing from the helipad on the 35th floor...Dan and I thiink that we saw the tower hit by lightning at one point but I guess that is not that unusual...

And now it is time to move on...We (Lesley and her friend Maryanne another Canadian woman) leave tonight for Cochin ,India and have designed and booked a tour lasting 8 days. It will be a new way of travelling for me . We have a car and driver for the duration who will tour us and see that we get to our hotels each evening . Another adventure.!

Not sure when I will get to an internet in India but stay tuned and keep in touch...

Advertisement



4th February 2007

WOW
DUBAI SOUNDS VERY INTERESTING, ENJOY AND DO BE CAREFULL.LIONEL LOST THE NOMINATION BY ONE VOTE, VERY DISSAPOINTING FOR HIM I'M SURE. ALL IS WELL HERE BYE R
4th February 2007

You go girl . . .
You are certainly making the most of each day - what a fabulous array of experiences! I look forward to hearing about your next week of adventures!
4th February 2007

Greetings from Mexico
HI,glad to hear about your adventures.Sounds wonderful and full of great new experiences.We are settled in Mexico in Los Ayala,very close to Guaybitas.Enjoying the people,mostly Canadians and Americans.Our house owners came down from Guadalahara,so did practise some Spanish.Two doors down from our Calgary friends.Shopping in the market has been fun and lots of evening activities so far. ENJOY your trip to India,Our neighbours here are in India for a wedding .WILL ENJOY HEARING ABOUT YOUR TRIP THERE.TRAVEL SAFE.Travel safe.Cheers,Nettie May find your brother ,one never knows.
5th February 2007

Yeah Canada
Good to hear all is going well. We loved Cirque when we saw them in Montreal in 1988. What a success story; they're still amazing almost 20 years later! Just a thought about Dubai's construction--I notice the CN Tower in TO is still the world's tallest free-standing structure. Yeah Canada! We ate curry last night thinking of you (but ours was made with beef). xoxo

Tot: 0.316s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1069s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb