Dubai - Part 2


Advertisement
United Arab Emirates' flag
Middle East » United Arab Emirates » Dubai
November 18th 2006
Published: November 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Happy AnniversaryHappy AnniversaryHappy Anniversary

Tom and Bonnie are celebrating their 25th anniversary! (and I lunched with them)
Ok everyone, I'm back! I can see that our time in Dubai is going to be a 4-parter as far as the blog is concerned!

What a day we've had today!!! It was essentially a "free" day for us, to relax or do whatever we pleased. So many options, so many choices.......at first I was going to go to the infamous Emeriates Mall, where there is an indoor ski resort. That was the plan! But, plans change. I then had an invitation to join a group who were heading to the famous Burj Al Arab hotel for lunch! Bingo!!! Count me in. This is a once in a lifetime chance to have this 7* experience, so I'm going! Yes, of course, I gave my head a shake.........for a minute......$137US for a lunch! Puleese!!!!! But when will I ever get back here???????? I mean, .....who knows????? I must go! So, go I did. And what an experience. WOW does not even come close to describing this experience. Pinch me, for goodness sake!!!! (Anne, Tina and "the sisters" went to the Mall so I'll get their pictures later to post).

Off I go, to the lunch of a lifetime. What fun.
Bagpipes in DubaiBagpipes in DubaiBagpipes in Dubai

We met up with the Opening Ceremonies of the Asian Games (I believe that's what was going on at the Burj Al Arab hotel)
There were 16 of us, including Carl (our Senior Tour Guide) and Ben (owner of Travel Guild). We had a blast! The pictures speak for themselves and I wanted to dedicate this whole Part 2 section to this hotel, the lunch, the interior of the hotel and its surroundings. Breath-taking, spectacular, amazing........lifestyle of the rich and famous, that's for sure!

The lobby is spectacular. There is an aquarium on either side of the lobby, full of fish, and we happened to be there when scuba divers were in there cleaning the tank. One of them posed for me! A huge water fountain is also in the lobby. The carpets and ceilings and lighting is breath-taking!!!!! (I should have brought my Thesaurus with me so I could find some other descriptive words!). Up the escalator to the restaurant, where we had the most amazing lunch buffet. Yes, of course, I had a chat with the chefs and had a photo opportunity! That's what I love to do.......chat with the chefs! Lunch was super delicious! The view was incredible. The company was fun. I sat with Tom and Bonnie (from Calgary) who are on this trip celebrating their 25th anniversary. They
A fine young fellowA fine young fellowA fine young fellow

In the hotel lobby
own "Homes by Us" in Calgary. Ben, from the Travel Guild, also joined us. It was such fun getting to know them! I know their families are following this blog also, so I have included pictures.

Then we had a tour of the hotel, and went into the little shops to pick up a few things. Around the hotel property, I took some pictures of the beaches, the Palm Island, the new Trump towers being built, and so on. It's all so amazing! Once again, I felt like a princess!

So, sit back and enjoy these pictures, and stay tuned for Part 3 of the blog. We just got back from the most incredible evening out in the sand dunes. It too deserves a page all of its own!

Happy Pat


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

The scuba diver with the fishThe scuba diver with the fish
The scuba diver with the fish

Look closely to see the scuba diver cleaning the fish tank (in the lobby of the hotel)
Carl, Pat and BenCarl, Pat and Ben
Carl, Pat and Ben

In the lobby of the hotel; check out the water fountain behind us
Going into the restaurantGoing into the restaurant
Going into the restaurant

I took this through the jumping water in the fountain
At the buffetAt the buffet
At the buffet

Beautiful decor
So many food choicesSo many food choices
So many food choices

Such great quality
It's all good!It's all good!
It's all good!

Good thing I exercise every day!
In the lobby, looking upIn the lobby, looking up
In the lobby, looking up

It's breath-takingly beautiful
Who stays here, you ask?Who stays here, you ask?
Who stays here, you ask?

Pick a car, any car.....Kevin, this one's for you!
Ben choosing his lunchBen choosing his lunch
Ben choosing his lunch

Look at the view behind him!
Through these doors.....Through these doors.....
Through these doors.....

is where the Sheiks dine....
Check out these wine pricesCheck out these wine prices
Check out these wine prices

We didn't have any :)
I do like to meet the ChefsI do like to meet the Chefs
I do like to meet the Chefs

He was making a seafood biscuit.....yum!
It's a tough life!It's a tough life!
It's a tough life!

I could get used to these surroundings!
Still at the hotelStill at the hotel
Still at the hotel

It's just gorgeous
The elevatorsThe elevators
The elevators

Just where would they take you????
And where did YOU have lunch today?And where did YOU have lunch today?
And where did YOU have lunch today?

It's a rough life.......


18th November 2006

Dubai...
Hi Pat - I've only seen the interior of the hotel on TV. Your photos are amazing - just to think you are actually there. All that wealth - but would you trade your freedom? I sure wouldn't..... Looks like a type of paradise though. Did you see women? How were they dressed? if you saw them.... Today is cold - put the fire place on - have 5 grandchildren for the week-end... needless to say - it's busy and noisy. Keep the photos and blogs coming.... Cheers -
19th November 2006

oops
Hi again, Granny pat - I clicked on my last message before it was finished. I was going to say that I was playing in the snow today, but I see you opted out of the mall that has snow for an amzing lunch experience!! I liked the 2 SILVER cars granny pat, are you getting one? Were there any kids in that hotel granny pat? Why are they all in Dr's coats granny pat? Love you lots ------mmmmmmmmmmmmbahhhhhhhh!!
19th November 2006

Message back to my precious grandson!
Hi Kalen, you sweetie pie! I loved your message, and knew that you (and your Dad) would love seeing the pictures of the cars! Wow, were they beautiful! I miss you LOTS! Glad you are following my journey. Wait till you see this next blog of last night's activity. Wow. You will think I'm a pretty cool Granny Pat! Big smooch back at ya, Granny Pat

Tot: 0.135s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 74; dbt: 0.0768s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb