Wow! Dubai!!!!


Advertisement
United Arab Emirates' flag
Middle East » United Arab Emirates » Dubai
November 17th 2006
Published: November 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Burj Al Arab hotelBurj Al Arab hotelBurj Al Arab hotel

This is the amazing 7* hotel in Dubai. A group of us went for the $137US lunch! ....and it was well worth it.
Hi everyone,

We arrived from India this afternoon. Another adventure! This one is going to be amazing, I am sure.

We left our hotel in Inida yesterday morning and headed for the airport, with fingers crossed that it wouldn't be too terribly busy. We were lucky and moved right on through the airport and on to our plane with no delays whatsoever. Whew! Bye bye India! The crew looked gorgeous again, as they had been shopping and bought saris (spelling?). They are not only an attractive crew, but professional, helpful, happy and lots of fun! It will be difficult to say good-bye at the end of this tour.

With a bit of a delay on the tarmac at India, we were off and on our way. It was a pleasant flight. Many people took advantage of the 4 hours to take a nap. I watched the movie "Rumour has It!" with Jennifer Aniston and Kevin Costner. It was good fluff! As we flew into Dubai, it was definitely a different geography we were looking at! This is exciting! I can still say the word "Dubai", I see the signs that say Dubai, but I still can't believe I
I'm still at it!I'm still at it!I'm still at it!

I was in the gym this morning; nice workout area.
am actually IN Dubai! It is like living a dream and I'm walking around in it. But, I am IN the moment and enjoying each step of this journey.

We got off the plane and the heat hit me! Whew! It was about 30 degrees. (I'm not complaining though.........I'm just saying it's not MY favorite type of weather. Others were in their glory!) Once in the airport, we could see that we are in a different world. There are men in white robes everywhere! On the bus and on our way to the hotel. We're staying at the Dhow Palace (www.dhowpalacedubai.com) This place is stunning! Wow. The lobby takes your breath away (not only the view, but the smoke too, ha ha!)

We have a few hours before dinner, which is nice. Dinner is a river cruise (here I go again.........my comfort level on water is increasing by the country!). We had a buffet, which is the easiest way to feed a group of 90+ people. It was called the Dhow dinner cruise, and we were on the creek of Dubai (which comes in from the sea). It was a round shaped Arabic ship. (Art, you and your
Lorraine at the dinner cruiseLorraine at the dinner cruiseLorraine at the dinner cruise

We had cocktails on the upper deck; it was all first class!
family would have loved this!) It was a most pleasant evening. The temperature had dipped to where I really enjoyed being outside. We had cocktails on the upper deck and dinner on the main deck. The chicken, pasta, vegetables, veal, etc. were all first class. Beer and wine flowed. On the top deck, we could see the major sights of Dubai. It was quite nice. We all had a great time.

I know that everyone was feeling the same way as me as the evening came to an end............head for the bed and know that we get to sleep as long as we wanted. The last few days have been busy and full. These 3 days are full of rest and relaxation and doing what we want. We will be heading to the sand dunes for a barbeque tonight and we have a city tour tomorrow, but otherwise we are on our own. I'm heading to that famous 7 * hotel for lunch today with some of the tour people; it's $137USD for lunch!!!!! And I don't care, because it's one experience I want to have and it will add to my "speaking repertoire"!!!! Of course I'll be taking
Coming into DubaiComing into DubaiComing into Dubai

Check out the sand!
pictures! Others went to the mall with the ski hill in it; I'm going there tomorrow.

In the meantime, enjoy the photos of our flight into Dubai and some of the immediate sights that we experienced.

Bye for now,

Happy Pat and her tour group!


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

Still coming into DubaiStill coming into Dubai
Still coming into Dubai

Fabulous scenery
Lots of roadwaysLots of roadways
Lots of roadways

Not too many cars in sight
Driving to the hotelDriving to the hotel
Driving to the hotel

What a difference from India!
City of DubaiCity of Dubai
City of Dubai

Fabulous architecture
Chicken anyone!Chicken anyone!
Chicken anyone!

It's everywhere!
Some of the homesSome of the homes
Some of the homes

Beautiful properties!
Flowers everywhereFlowers everywhere
Flowers everywhere

Gorgeous to look at!
The twin towers of DubaiThe twin towers of Dubai
The twin towers of Dubai

Beautiful buildings
Around the cityAround the city
Around the city

Beautiful buildings
The MallThe Mall
The Mall

A closer look. That's where I am going tomorrow with Tom and Bonnie
Sally, Me and BonnieSally, Me and Bonnie
Sally, Me and Bonnie

In the lobby of our hotel. Gorgeous place!
Our dinner cruise buffetOur dinner cruise buffet
Our dinner cruise buffet

It's all about buffets in Dubai.
The dinner cruise gangThe dinner cruise gang
The dinner cruise gang

This was the most enjoyable, relaxing evening on a boat! My family will be shocked to hear me say that, but it's true. A perfect evening.
Chatelaine, Champagne and you dear!Chatelaine, Champagne and you dear!
Chatelaine, Champagne and you dear!

Sally was celebrating a special birthday so David came to the back of the plane to share some champagne with us.


18th November 2006

Well, we have finally caught up reading the blog! Busy Here. The boys have been following your progress around the globe and the pictures are great! You have seen some incredible sights. And I think you have been on and in more water than you probably have been in your entire life. Enjoy yourself!!
18th November 2006

Caught up on the blogs?
Nope.....I just finished posting 2 more from Dubai! And I'm tired and going to bed now. We had THE most incredible night at the sand dunes. And the pictures will blow you away.......but I'm too tired to do it tonight, so stay tuned tomorrow! The boys will love the pictures! And yes, I have had more water experience than I had imagined, and I'm handling it well. Wish you were here, because I know that you would LOVE it! I think of you every time I step on a boat!!!! Love to all of you! Pat
19th November 2006

Tina looks happy too!
Dubai looks amazing!!!!!!Silly tina, not going for the lunch. Perhaps, she went shopping to buy me something!!!!!!then she is forgiven. Pat your postings are wonderful, take care, have fun,!!!!! Del.

Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0244s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb