Laz Bones - Part II


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Marmara » Istanbul » Sultanahmet
July 8th 2011
Published: July 13th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Day 4: The Islands

Today we woke up and it was a cool 40 degrees after the humidex. Wonderful, since we have arrived there has not been a single cloud in the sky and it just keeps getting hotter and hotter. I really enjoy the heat, heck, lets just make it an even 50 degrees and call it good! For those unaware, that first paragraph was once again sarcasm.

On the cab ride to our hostel we were told about the Prince's Islands in the sea of Maramara so we decided to go and check them out. The trip over to the islands nearly broke the bank costing us a whole 3,50 TL each way for the 90 minute ferry ride. I decided we would go to the second largest of the nine islands which is called Heybeliada. None of these islands are allowed any form of motorized transport so the only way to get around is to walk, bike, or ride a horse drawn carriage. Guess which one we chose?! You are probably thinking to yourselves; why didn't they walk or ride a bike? If that is the case than apparently you did not read the above paragraph where I mentioned the 40 degrees of hell fire that the sun was raining down on us. You also may have forgotten the numerous times that I have mentioned the word hill on this trip; guess what, the islands are no different, if anything they are worse. If I was unable to answer your question then I am sure there is a summer school course where one might partake in some reading comprehension courses... Sorry, I might be a little cranky, the heat does that to me. On the plus side I haven't suffered from any boughts of "HEAT STROKE" yet! I also haven't touched any alcohol because it has been too bloody hot. Did I mention it was hot here? Sorry, back on topic, when we arrived at the island we hopped on the carriage and went for a 45 minute tour around the island for a reasonable 45TL for the both of us.

Afterwards we stopped at this restaurant we had planned on eating at since we arrived. The reason we chose this particular place isn't because it looked the nicest or had the prettiest waitress', no we chose this place because instead of asking me if they could help me spend my money they gave us a map of the island and oriented us to the direction of certain sites that they recommended, not once did they ask us to eat at their restaurant; now that is how you get me to spend my money! When we returned we were greeted with hospitality. After ordering what the server recommended he brought us something that was not on the menu, it can only be best described as a ravioli in a light cream sauce. I don't do it justice but it was amazing. After our first course we decided to sample two more items and then were treated to free tea at the end of the service. At first I was a little leary after reading about the tourist traps on the islands but there were none at this restaurant on this particular island because for four meals, a complementary dish, and complementary tea it only cost 30TL or about $18. I definitely recommend this island if you ever make a trip to Istanbul.

So after the return trip of 90 minutes we had our traditional afternoon nap. I also forgot to mention that Terri and I have finally got these bloody side streets near our hostel figured out, it only took us four days. They are bloody confusing.

Now you may be wondering why I mention the cost of everything; the reason will soon be apparent. Upon awakening from our nap I decided that we would go down to the fish market we had accidentally found on one of our walks home when I was lost because apparently I felt the need to be taken for a spin on the tour de empty your wallet. This is definitely a tourist trap for anybody planning on visiting the fish market in Sultanahmet (Old town) Istanbul. Four glasses of pop, some raw octopus, some cheese, and a supposed salad containing tomatoes and green onions cost us 80TL. So after having a wonderful day on the island I was a little choked at picking such a rip off for a restaurant. These types of places give a bad taste for tourists in what for the most part is a wonderful city with amazing food and genuine people.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



14th July 2011

Sunstroke/Ripoff
Must be the Tilley hat that's keeping your bean from stroking in the sun... and as for the ripoff, all I can say is, even though the sun may shine a little rain must fall - they are probably taking advantage of their location around the hostels. Sounds like your having a great time! Keep blogging!!!
25th July 2011

add it to the list
thanks for that , have just added this island to my list! Cindy ps hope you don't think I am stalking your blogs!!

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0462s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb