"That Guy Is Arsenal Over There"


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Aegean » Fethiye
August 22nd 2005
Published: July 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Fetiyhe BayFetiyhe BayFetiyhe Bay

So Blue, Funny how it seems
2 Hours away from Goycegiz is Fethiye, my rest stop before I go on a Blue Cruise to Olympos. My pension this time was the Ferah Pension. On a rooftop dorm overlooking the cool harbour. 2 of the Aussie girls are also here. I've stayed in the same places as them in Canakkale, Goycegiz and now here. "You are not a stalker pabloq, you are definitely not a stalker".

Soon as I arrive I realise that Arsenal are playing Chelsea this afternoon, so the rush to find a bar with the match is on. I didn't have to look too far because a English guy could see the worried look on my face and told me "It's full of Chelsea up there son" SO?

I go on upstairs and settle in with a beer and in front of the TV. "That guy is Arsenal over there." A Chelsea fan says. No shit, I thought, as I was wearing my brand new 1970's red and white Arsenal shirt.

Chelsea fans are a strange breed. They all had holiday mullets and wore Lacoste white trainers and all of them had the exact same whiny voice as Dennis Wise. Fetiyhe is another
Here Comes The Gület ManHere Comes The Gület ManHere Comes The Gület Man

All ready for the off tomorrow morning
town on the Mediterranean which has been taken over by the English, it's a crying shame.

The Chavski fans girlfriends came into the pub and bought their boys plenty of fake Lacoste shirts (Pink of course!)

Chelsea got lucky and scored. A flukey shinner which was offside and smelt of Russian oil to me. For the last 20 minutes or so the beer started to work as I was insulting the ref's mother. This seemed to amuse a table full of rugby loving Aussies on a table behind me. THEY JUST DON'T HAVE A CLUE! The match was over, we lost. So I decided to go back to the hostel and have a early night.

Next morning I had a walk around Fetiyhe. I lost my flashcard reader so I found Fetiyhe's Tottenham Court Road and bargained proper shops down to 7 Pounds for one. It is the most touristy town I have been in since Prague. Prices in English pounds for Fish and Chips everywhere. I spent a lot of time sending photos to my parents and updating travel blogs as there is not much else here to do. Just me, waiting to go on my
Errrr Pete.Errrr Pete.Errrr Pete.

Pete was also a early pilot in his youth. They get the monuments up quick around here...
cruise to Olympos on Tuesday morning. I had a big harbourside meal in a place that had worse music than me, Milli Vanilli, Shaking Stevens and Wham's "Last Christmas". A bit like being at The Cannon at Newport Pagnell!

Back to the hostel for a few nightcaps and I met up with some Aussies who just been on the reverse trip. It sounded the bomb. Let's hope so!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0444s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb