pabloq In Guy Cheese (again)


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Aegean » Koycegiz
August 20th 2005
Published: July 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Sunset on Göycegiz lakeSunset on Göycegiz lakeSunset on Göycegiz lake

Really cool town, 2 nights is just right here
Off to the otogar in Selcuk for a 4 and a half hour bus ride to Göycegiz (pronounced Guy Cheese) I was advised to come here by the owner of the Kiwi Pension, Alison. Lets hope it lives up expectation!

After a non eventful bus ride with a rest stop at a 3 Michelin star restaurant (It seemed like it with the prices), I just settled with a ice cream.

I arrived at the Göycegiz otogar and got a minibus to the Tango Pension. It's a little dearer than the other places I have stayed in rural Turkey, but I have a en suite room, hammocks on tap and free cycle hire. Watch out Göycegiz! Although there are no squeaky things to squeak a la Berlin :-(.

Checking out the town by bike is easier than walking. It just seems to get hotter here every day, time for a pit stop and back to the pension for some hammock hanging. I will defo be getting a hammock when I get back home! Back into town for some dinner and watch the sun go down on the lakeside front. Even at night it is like a hairdryer set to high
Lycian TombsLycian TombsLycian Tombs

These are 3000 years old. Jebus!
heat here. I am really considering sleeping alfresco tonight, or get a flight back home where it is freezing at the moment. Maybe not!

Next morning I was off on a boat trip around Göycegiz lake. Much bigger than Willen lake and plenty more to see and do too. First stop was the Turtle beach, no turtles on it during the day, just plenty of daytrippers catching some rays before lunch. The sea was really warm and you could walk out 100 meters or so and the water would only be up to your waist.

After lunch we went to the Göycegiz lake mud baths. Everyone was walking around covered in the stuff. Now it's our turn! The mud was so thick you just bobbed up to the top every time you tried to sink. All the others from the boat didn't go all in., but I did. I even had it in my teeth, ugh. After 15 minutes bathing, it was time to dry in the sun, then a high pressure shower which took about 15 minutes to wash it all off. Then a dip in the thermal pool, which stunk, but it was very warm and
Göycegiz lakeGöycegiz lakeGöycegiz lake

Scenerytastic
helped out rinse away mud that I missed!

Back on the boat, we went to a small cove on the lake for another swim. The water was so clear and quite warm too. After that it was back to the Tango pension for some dinner. A pretty good day out.

After dinner it was drinking time and a bit of card playing with the Aussie's and Kiwi's who I met on the boat, you cant beat a drunken game of "cheat". Shame my poker face got worse as the beer went down.

The next morning I went exploring on my own. I went up the highway on a squeaky bike for about 10Km's, then walked another 2Km's along a river valley to a 20 meter high waterfall with lake. Even though it was 10am it was freaking hot. I jumped in the lake and as it was water from the mountains, it was freezing cold. Nice. I must have stayed in there for a hour or so, I was the only one there which made it extra special. I climbed out and started trekking back to my bike. Once I got back to my bike there was
Turtle BeachTurtle BeachTurtle Beach

No heroes in a half shell here:-(
around 50 people all ready to trek to the waterfall, timing or what? A sticky bike ride back to Göycegiz, a shower then goodbye to the Tango pension and off to Fethiye!



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Fire - WireFire - Wire
Fire - Wire

Fun and games at the Tango pension
Don't Go Chasing WaterfallsDon't Go Chasing Waterfalls
Don't Go Chasing Waterfalls

It's mine, all mine!


Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 12; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0393s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb