No turning back now...


Advertisement
Qatar's flag
Middle East » Qatar » Doha
October 16th 2008
Published: October 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I learned a very important rule while flying, make sure the name on your airline tickets match what is on your visa! Fortunately the people at Qatar airways were able to fix the problem very quickly. I didn't even have to get my birth certificate out :P As I was waiting to board the plane the person who originally helped me with my ticketing just smiled and said "Glad you made it."

The flight was a nice one, and I slept most of the way to Doha. Oh Mom you will like this, they handed out socks to everyone so your toes would stay warm. Luckily, the flight wasn't full so I had the row to myself (the row consisted of one extra seat). I was so happy I could have done the happy dance but that will have to wait. I'm hoping that I will be just as lucky on my final flight to Delhi but if not that's ok too.

When I finally woke up and looked out the window all I could see was the blue black water below outlined in a red orange glow as the remains of the sun set below me. Looking around the cabin I started wondering who if anyone on this flight would I see at Koenig, probably no one but still you wonder where everyone is going and what they will be seeing.

Well I couldn't see much as we landed but I did notice that yes they do drive on the right side of the road. The first thing that I noticed as I disembarked was the smell of fish and then the warm humid air. My glasses quickly fogged up. Buses were waiting to take us to the airport. I wasn't sure what to expect but thankfully it is easy to navigate through the airport. I have to admit that I thought I would be a lot more nervous but that is not the case. Hmmm...we will see if I feel the same way once I reach my destination.

Ok that's all for now....I will be landing at 3:30am tomorrow so we will see how quickly I hop on my laptop.

Advertisement



16th October 2008

Score!
Entire row to yourself---very nice... I'm glad you are not nervous! What a fun adventure!!
16th October 2008

I knew you'd like that...
the socks, that is! :) I almost told you about them before you left, but changed my mind just in case they didn't give them out anymore to cut costs. I'm glad you enjoyed your first flight!!! Hopefully the second one is just as good for you!
16th October 2008

Don't you wish....
Don't you wish you had actually gotten your whole name "thing" straightened out before hand??? ;-)
18th October 2008

That would make life easier...
Last names are only important to everyone else! :P
27th October 2008

Wow, Erin
I'm proud of you. Great job making things happen. So are you in India or Qatar? My husband was born in Qatar. We're thinking of you. Terrell Zeidan
27th October 2008

Hi Terrell,
I'm so glad to hear from you! Well, I'm now in New Delhi for a while. Hope all is well with you.

Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0766s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb