Oh Boy!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India
October 17th 2008
Published: October 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Oh boy do I have a case of the culture shocks. Wow I knew that I would be adjusting to a lot of new things but who knew that just getting something so simple as WIFI would be such a big deal. You really do become so dependent on technology that when it doesn't work the way it normally does it can throw you for a loop.

Anyway, I landed in New Delhi at 3:30 this morning and haven't slept since. By the time I got through customs, got my luggage and found my ride it was almost 5:00 before I checked into the hotel.

The air was and still is quite smokey and as the driver took me through various parts of New Delhi on our way to the hotel I caught sight of men, women and children sleeping on the sidewalks. One man actually was sleeping on his bike, his head was on the handlebars and his feet were on the seat. Wow. That was all I could think.

My room is very simple but clean. The people are very helpful (accept for one grouchy person). Interestingly I have only seen men working at the hotel. Now I don't know if there are women and they cook or clean but if that is the case I haven't seen them.

I was climbing the walls because of the lack of internet. So I went out and road one of those tiny motorized rickshaws (I need to take a picture of it) which was fun and scary at the same time. Apparently in India you use your horn to signal when you are turning instead of using signal lights. Also, the belief that you are suppose to drive on the left side of the road is only true when it suits you. Crash helmet anyone? I did make it to a lovely bazaar (one of millions) but I had a great time looking at their beautiful things, haggling with them and drinking tea there. After a long day I am back in the hotel worn out and ready for bed. Even though it's only 5pm here.

I will post pics once I get a chance. I'm still working on that part of my blogging. Boy do I miss you all.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



17th October 2008

Congrats!
You have now joined the elite ranks of world travelers! You will never be the same (in a good way). :)
17th October 2008

Doesn't look too bad
Glad you got out into the city. Having internet access only in the lobby isn't so bad. Can you move rooms so you are closer to it and then get a signal that way? If not what about getting a signal booster and hooking it up?
17th October 2008

Welcome to India
Hii .. Me from a costal place in India... How u feel here in India?....
18th October 2008

Hi
Well I am beginning to settle in here and in a few days everything that seemed so different will feel completely normal. Thanks for asking. Do you live in India or are you traveling?
18th October 2008

Pico pico
Today is a better day. Although I would much rather have someone here holding my hand. For some reason I think that would somehow it would diminish this trip.
18th October 2008

hmm...
Ok so I will never be the same...well I hope so or what's the point! lol
18th October 2008

well.. me living in Cochin a green place in South India... I am mad to travell i travelled a lot of places in India.. R u from Richmond VA? I have one of my intimate friend there... They live at Kilpeck Dr. Nice to meet u here. My self Mr. lal here. I am inviting u to be my friend.... let me know your opinion...
22nd October 2008

kids
I've heard of kids running away from home but this is a little much! Love your blog!!!
22nd October 2008

Green fees?
Hey, were are the golf courses and what are the green fees?
23rd October 2008

kids
Hahaha, you're right Grammy it is pretty extreme.
23rd October 2008

Green Fees
I will have to find out how much the green fees run. But I do know that they have some golf courses.

Tot: 0.18s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1327s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb