Tel Aviv, Old Jaffa & The Dead Sea Scrolls


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » Jerusalem District » Jerusalem
January 14th 2009
Published: January 14th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hi hi hi!

Been a VERY busy few days. Apparently I now have an addiction to Falafel... but whatevs! It's good stuff I tell you! I bought some "Doritos" ( I can't read Hebrew so I assume) that had pictures of jalapenos on them, I was so excited thinking they would be lovely and hot, but they aren't, how disappointment!

So, On Monday we went on an excursion to Tel Aviv to go to two museums, one was very long and dreary, it was called the Diaspora Museum, and it took the people at the cafe 45 minutes to make one half of a sandwich for me! The second was called the Palmach Museum and it was beyond excellent! It reminded me slightly of that lights and sound show at Centrepoint Tower... well maybe not, but kind of close. On the way home we stopped off at the invisible flea markets at Old Jaffa. The beach was so beautiful though, it really made me miss home... all those lovely hot days I am missing 😞

Tuesday was jam packed full of lectures on Nazi Ideology and the Ghettos. At night we went to the Israel Museum to see the Dead Sea Scrolls. The most impressive part would have been the section of the Isaiah Scrolls. Today we are meeting 4 Holocaust survivors, one who survived Auschwitz too!

Tomorrow we see Schindler's grave and meet two Schindler Jews which is sooooo exciting!

Ephraim asked Michelle and I to have a deep and meaningful with anyone who is interested about teaching Muslim students about the Holocaust.. apparently it's a very interesting/strange/abnormal/exciting thing to do... I dunno, they are just kids really! We love them no matter what/who/where they are.

So excuse the minimal effort and time put into this blog, I only have a short lunch (yes half of it is devoted to the D&M). Love you lots, xoxoxo LEXI

Advertisement



14th January 2009

Tel Aviv...is that a beach or is that a BEACH.like I know?
Enjoy the cool weather 'cos it's sure hot here.Went out to Cronulla yesterday with Aunty Jude and Jaime. We had a really high tide yesterday down the whole east coast of Australia and the pool at North Cronulla was totally submerged and the surfers were riding over it and right up to the seawall! Amazing!Jared got a promotion and we are all very excited about it. He will only go to London for 6 weeks in July, now. I will send him a congratulatory card from all of us Herons. Our floors are finished after 3 days hard work and we can move the furniture back in on Friday.Tel Aviv sounds lovely and it sounds like the Israelis have wonderful museums. Have you met many people that will remain lifelong friends? I can't wait to visit Israel one day and see all the wonderful places you are telling us about. LOVE YOU TO PIECES, LITTLE GIRL. MUMxxxxooooxxxx
15th January 2009

Lex, 40 degree days isn't that much fun so it's pretty extreme heat you're missing, well that was yesterday! Sounds like your travels are unreal, must be amazing to see. I know from India mostly and even some thai/malaysia/hawaii sights its just amazing and eye-opening to see the world that others live in- and you keep the memories close for ever... feels like i only just went to india- its been 3 years!! enjoy everything my dear, catch you soon xo
16th January 2009

Well, you know how I feel about teaching the Holocaust to our kids, Lex. They understand racism, oppression and mistrust. Once you get past what they have been mislead to believe, they quickly and easily see that the victims of the Holocaust were no different to them. Can I place an order for that Falafel please and I think at the Diaspora Museum, I reached a new level of boredom not yet experienced by humankind! Nonetheless, it sounds like you are enjoying yourself- I am so glad x
16th January 2009

Well, you know how I feel about teaching the Holocaust to our kids, Lex. They understand racism, oppression and mistrust. Once you get past what they have been mislead to believe, they quickly and easily see that the victims of the Holocaust were no different to them. Can I place an order for that Falafel please and I think at the Diaspora Museum, I reached a new level of boredom not yet experienced by humankind! Nonetheless, it sounds like you are enjoying yourself- I am so glad x
20th January 2009

Keep up the Good Work Lex
Great reading all ur blogs Lex. It sounds such a "walk in time". So many life changing appreciations, dinner table stories and visual memories huh! I have followed your journey with excitement. Sorry to hear about the bracelet too. Can't wait to have a cuppa with u in Nan and Pop's lounge room sweetie and hear all about it. Take care. Love You xoxoxoxox from Uncle Ian , Aunty Chris, Frances, Simon and Matty

Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0668s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb