All good things...


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » Jerusalem District » Jerusalem
August 7th 2008
Published: August 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

My favorite people...My favorite people...My favorite people...

Nonie, Judy, Devy, Rebecca, me, Irving
Thursday, August 07, 2008

The summer yeshiva program officially ended today. We were fed pizza (not recommended by American standards!) and falafel for a farewell lunch and gathering. It’s really quite astonishing how quickly this program has grown. Not too long ago there were less than 10 students here for the summer. This summer, there were over 135. And the beauty of it is that while the name is under the auspices of Conservative Judaism, its mission and philosophy and resulting student body are diverse. We had everyone from unaffiliated to modern orthodox and everything in between. It’s been fabulous…

But now, it’s time to go home. I’m ready. I’ve reached my saturation point and I’m ready to go home. I think this feeling started when I spoke to my brother earlier this week. Found out my mother is thinking about joining us in Philly when I stop there for a few days next week before returning to MN and it got me thinking about going home. Although I know I will return to Israel again someday, and maybe for an even longer visit, I don’t think I could live here, especially with my family back in the States. We get to see each other so little as it is that my being here would be even more difficult. And “family” is at the heart of Judaism, after all, and where would I be without mine?? Of course, if my path indeed leads me to be in Israel on a more permanent basis someday, who am I to argue the hands of destiny?! Only G-d knows what’s in store for me; I just have to pay attention to the signs and make the best choices I can…

And right now, the signs are pointing to the airport! Judy and many others I’ve befriended and hold dear left earlier this evening or are already gone. I miss them already! It feels strange to not have an outing planned, to not be going on some shopping excursion to get this for that family member or to go check out this site and that…

This past week flew by like the other weeks. It was filled with shopping and eating. Lots of eating. I know I’ve put on weight and I’m trying not to lament that fact right now, although lamenting is apropos since this weekend is a fast holiday, Tish B’Av, which marks the destruction of the 2nd Temple and we read from the book of Lamentations. Some lingering students are gathering at the Yeshiva for a potluck Saturday night as Shabbat leaves and the fast day starts and then heading over to the Wall for an evening service. I don’t plan to do the actual fast - I’m ambivalent about how I feel about the Temple as anything other than a remnant and proof, in a way, of our tradition, heritage, and people hood. I certainly don’t want it rebuilt. I’d like to think we’ve moved beyond sacrifices. Prayer and meditation are fine substitutes in my humble opinion!

I look forward to the next few days as I explore more of what Jerusalem has to offer and gather myself in preparation to leave… (sorry folks - no photos this time!)


Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0254s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb