St. Stephen/Keats & Shelley


Advertisement
Europe
September 27th 2006
Published: October 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Tuesday Emilio took us to see St. Stephen's Basillica. It was really cool because it was circular, but it was hard to get the full effect b/c it was being restored. On our way there, we passed the sight where the rumored/controversial Popetessa had her baby. There was a legendary pope who was a woman, and her identity was revealed when she gave birth on the street. Anyways, there was a site with some flowers stuck in. That was pretty neat.

This morning, in between our break from lecture and site visit, a few of us asked Davide where he buys his cappuccino. Cappuccinos are a coveted Roman drink and so delicious here. We followed him to a caffe about a block away and ordered with him. Davide finished his and told us the bus stop to meet him at. As we were finishing, we were ready to pay, and un beknowst to us, Davide paid for us! It was so sweet. I really enjoy Random Acts of Kindness and that was just a really nice thing to do and we all showered Davide with a chorus of "Grazie! Grazie! Grazie!" Davide took us to this gorgeous cemetary (I forgot the name!) modeled after Pere LaChaise, which is one of my favorite places in Paris. Odd, I know to like a cemetary, but it's really pretty and peaceful there, which I find sweet, because I hate it when cemetaries are portrayed as dark, desolate, and scarry and instill fear about death. This one was very peaceful. Anyways, the famous romantic English poets Keats and Shelley are burried there. To comemorate the event, I read "To Autumn" by John Keats. I love that poem.

After that, we headed to Via del Corso to see their memorial house next to the Spanish Steps. It was really neat to actually be in the apartment they lived in and to see where Keats spent his last few months of his life. So tragic and romantic... But it was a nice, sweet day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

My Cappuccino!My Cappuccino!
My Cappuccino!

Isn't it cute? They really get creative with their coffee here!
Protestant CemetaryProtestant Cemetary
Protestant Cemetary

View from the front gates
Protestant CemetaryProtestant Cemetary
Protestant Cemetary

View of La Piramide behind it
AngelAngel
Angel

I thought this was so pretty
Keats's BedKeats's Bed
Keats's Bed

Where Keats passed away


3rd October 2006

Excellent blog
I really enjoyed reading this. I adore the romantic poets, and I love Keats. I hope you had a moment of silence in my honor. Don't forget that you saw Wordsworth's grave in London. When you get home, we can read some romantic period poetry together! If you are too tired, I will recite for you. I love you and miss you!!!!

Tot: 0.227s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0435s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb