Catacombs


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
September 26th 2006
Published: October 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday Emilio took us the Catacombs of St. Sebastian. We had to take a guided tour according to their rules and it was just awful. Emilio was so disappointed and we pretty much lollygagged our way through listening to Emilio’s notes rather than the tour guide. We headed back to school to go to Italian. It was rainy and pretty miserable. I came home and Grant and I ate spaghetti. Mmm! It was really good. Everyone was trying to be nice to me because at the catacombs, I looked down at my feet that were pretty tired and saw they had swollen to the size of Jet Puff Marshmallows! It was kind of funny but also just weird! I hadn’t twisted anything, and I hadn’t done a particular amount of walking. Everyone had a suggestion to make it go down. “Elevate them!” “Take off your shoes!” “Drink more water!” So I came home, drank 2 liters of water, took off my shoes and propped up my feet and they still look like two potatoes. When I took off my shoes Grant cried he was laughing so hard. I had indentions in my feet from my shoes. So sad!

Today Emilio took us to the remains of the church of St. Clemente. It was really cool! Once again, it was below a really beautiful church and had some sarcophoguses and even a natural spring running through it. I really think it’s interesting how people practice their religion so I really enjoy the church/temple visits.

I then went to the grocery store and stocked up on food, and am now sitting at home, with my feet propped, of course, and about to go to bed. I made a pretty pathetic dinner for myself of rice, soy sauce, and an egg. The pathetic part was that I undercooked my rice so some parts were a little hard. Ew! I’m sure my dad is shaking his head at me right now, and I really should be able to cook a decent bit of rice…




Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



2nd October 2006

hey cool pics. hope you are having fun in rome. call me if you ever get a chance

Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0237s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb