Capri!


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Campania » Capri
September 24th 2006
Published: October 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Today we woke up, checked out of the hostel, and hopped on the ferry to Capri. I was sea-sick on the ferry and felt like a big ol’ crab apple. Jamie just kept telling me I was glamorous like a pouty movie star, but I felt anything but fabulous. Anyways, we got off (on the right island) and bought tickets for the Funicolore—the tram that takes you to the top of the island. It was so beautiful. My mother and sister are both awesome painters and I took a ton of pictures for them because it really is a painters’ dream there. We got off at the top and my little crab-apply self was hungry. We stopped at the first restaurant we saw, Capri’s Ristorante. I would have eaten there anyways, but the driving incentive was that Keanu Reeves, Mariah Carey, and Kanye West had eaten there before. Cool, huh? I’m such a goob for celeb gossip. The restaurant was an excellent choice. Perfect view of the island and amazing caprese salad—mozzarella and tomato—which is named after Capri.

We walked up to Augustus’s Gardens after lunch, took a ton of photos, and proceeded down the island. We had about 2
CapriCapriCapri

View from Augustus's Gardens
hours until we had to catch the ferry back to Naples, so we stopped at a tourist office to ask what we should see. She told us to head to the beach! You don’t have to tell me twice! I was already wearing my 5 Euro bathing suit underneath my clothes (charming, right?) and everyone says we hadn’t even said hello to the beach and they saw me sprinting towards the water. It was so pristine; clear, blue Mediterranean water, white pebbles… We hung out there for a while, and then we left to catch our ferry. The ferry back was really nice and we sat inside. This helped to combat the sea-sickness and was actually pretty fun. We bought tram tickets once we got to Naples to get to the train station. Now I know why Davide said to stay out of Naples. The tram was crowded and we watched a man try to steal Sam’s camera bag. Sam grabbed his bag strap back from him and just stared at the man. It was really creepy, but it was too crowded to really move. My face was smushed between 2 people. We got off and realized that all that was really stolen on the tram was Tyler’s deodorant. Pretty funny actually, but still ridiculous. Actually, the guy probably needed it a lot more than Tyler. We met some other students also traveling back from Capri to Rome studying with American University in Rome on the tram and one girl had her wallet stolen on there. It was really sad. We ate at the train station, and waited. We had about 2 hours until our train left. We hopped on the train, and I slept all 3 hours back to Rome. We took a bus from the train station to Argentina, the stop for our tram. As I was walking off the bus to the tram stop, I guess I was still a little tired because I totally did a “slow-mow” fall and busted it flat on my face there. I scraped my hand a little but more than anything it woke me up. Kind of funny actually.




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

CapriCapri
Capri

The beach we swam at!


Tot: 0.309s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.1168s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb