Hadrian's Villa


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Tivoli
September 29th 2006
Published: October 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday, I came down with the beginning of a cold. I was misreable! But using my good judgement, I called in sick from school, slept all day and Grant brought me home medecine, Vitamin C, and Fanta after he got done with class. Those were my cure-alls. 😊 I hated to miss school, but I knew if I didn't and walked around all day, I would not be well to go to Hadrian's Villa. Luckily I had a good instinct about my health, my fever broke about 3 PM and I was feeling much better already by the evening.

So today I woke up and went to Hadrian's Villa. I was so excited! We've been studying it and how Hadrian was eclectic in that he mixed old Greek style with some new ideas. For example, square columns. The reconstructed images of what it was like in it's prime time are stunning and seem so romantic and I always dream about the things that happened there. It's one of my most common day dreams now, how it must have been to stay there and swim all day on top of a gorgeous mountain, surrounded by huge white sculptures and bath houses...
Hadrian's PoolHadrian's PoolHadrian's Pool

One of my favorite parts
Awwww... Plus I think the story about Hadrian and his lover are so romantic! Jamie and I always gossip about how sweet he was to him. A little like celebrity gossip, except this is historical, so we don't feel so silly. haha!

We toured there and one of my favorite parts of the villa was that it had these awesome olive gardens that looked like an excerpt from a fairy tale. I am nuts about fairy tales and of course I went running like a wild child through these fields! Davide thought it was really funny, but I thought it was great! They have these awesome purple wildflowers and I really wished I could be on a white horse with a big fluffy gown--like a princess who wanted to escape the castle life... Oo that's cool!

We came home and I was a good little girl and stayed in because I had been sick before and watched some Desperate Housewives. I really think it's great show--so oddly climactic, yet also has great bits about common dilemmas. It's funny and a good escape from school and being homesick.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

I like to pat antiquity's bottom!I like to pat antiquity's bottom!
I like to pat antiquity's bottom!

of course I just can't pass the opportunity for a funny picture!
Olive GardensOlive Gardens
Olive Gardens

Doesn't this seem straight out of a fairy tale?
Olive GardensOlive Gardens
Olive Gardens

Doesn't this seem straight out of a fairy tale?


12th October 2006

HI! I'm sorry that you were/are sick. You are very mature to decide to stay in and stuff like that. I love all the pictures. Note to you--a framed picture of that pretty angel from the cemetery with keats and stuff would be a great birthday present to me from you. Just letting you know. LOVE YOU!

Tot: 0.229s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0467s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb