Travel Surprise


Advertisement
Europe
February 4th 2010
Published: February 9th 2010
Edit Blog Post

So my flight from Marrakech - Casablanca - Madrid - Frankfurt went ok, with a few years off my life due to the late departure of the first leg, cutting into my transfer time in Casablanca and making that connection dicey. But it all worked and I eventually arrived back in Frankfurt.

Let me say again that you should avoid Madrid airport at all costs. If your choice is to fly through Siberia or Madrid, choose Siberia. Enough said.

I had booked a hotel very near the airport in Frankfurt since I knew it would be a late-ish arrivial and a noon departure the next day. This was a splurge for me in the first instance but I knew I would be ready for it😊.

I made it out of the airport no problem ( and no stamp in my passport) onto the hotel shuttle and to the hotel in record time. So I arrived at the hotel around 11PM and the wonderful girl at the desk upgraded me to the executive tower in an executive room! This has happened to me before and I very much appreciate it, but wonder whether I look like an executive or (more likely) a tad homicidal and in need of an upgrade😊. The upgrade was amazing as you might imagine, but moreso given what I had been staying in to that point. Showers! Blow dryer! Shampoor and soap!

About 2AM the doubts started....why did I not get a stamp or clear immigration in Germany? did I inadvertently exit the wrong door? am I now really in the country illegally? While in Madrid, my passport was checked and stamped no less than 3 times, even though I did not leave the airport or secure/transfer area - I was only on a connecting flight. So how did I breeze into Germany? will I be busted trying to get on my flight the following day??

Such are the thoughts of the over-tired.

I showered twice and used/packed all the samples by the time I left 8 hours later...... To catch my flight, with absolutely no problems (and still no passport check - since I was in the EU, having entered in Madrid apparently) to ....
Innsbruck Austria.




Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.359s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 55; dbt: 0.1213s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb