ascot


Advertisement
Europe
September 13th 2009
Published: September 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

hi all,
We are in the lap of luxury here in london. Maeve was waiting for us at gatwick and whisked us off home - along the way I could see signs for Wisley RHS garden and despite sheer exhaustion I wanted to go in for an hour or two but I was overruled by both maeve and George. England looks lovely and the sun is shining since we came. The flight itself is the usual eternal cramped experience - no air and not a spare seat on the plane. One copes. I managed a nap on Friday, then we went for a long walk around the lanes of south ascot - gorgous houses and gardens and back for a wonderful dinner. Maeve has not let us touch the sink, load the dishwasher or peel a carrot, we sit in her big couch and read all the papers they get and chat . Tom brought out an ancient bottle of port the first night - it was amazing and since Maeve hardly drinks and George is not much better - I think the lions share went to me. I love port and it was such a special bottle. The sleeping is going well in fits and starts but each morning I am not fully awake until 11.00am and my porridge is always waiting for me. We had a wonderful day yesterday in Windsor Great park - I was on a hunt for big trees but we got involved in some kind of national chariot racing and d
drove deeper into the park - I found extrodinary old oak trees and 3 sweet chestnuts that must have been 1',000 years old. I urged maeve to drive through all the privacy signs and we ended up having a tour of Cumberland lodge - an amazing old pile where the queen entertains her commonwealth ministers. The door was open and there was an event happening but we all walked in and wandered around looking at the pictures and glorious rooms - I could have moved in forever. We ended up back at the queens shop in the park and bought a huge bag of coxes orange pippin apples - the best in the world. Maeve had lasanga already prepared and we made salad - I put my foot down for more port - instead settled for brandy and we all watched last night at the proms on t.v. it was a 10/10 day. I have to finish up soon because the family are arriving for sunday lunch - we will be 12 and apparantly it will be chaotic with the three grandchildren. Tomorrow we leave for madrid and the next stage begins. I am over my jet lag but still have this nasty cough.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.19s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0294s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb