Lessons Learned


Advertisement
Europe
May 17th 2009
Published: May 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I am on the last leg of my journey. Today, as I ran, my head was clear with lessons learned. Let me try to enumerate some of the now.

1. Europe is VERY expensive. This morning, a cup of cappucino, a croissant, and a bottle of water was 9.70 Euros!! I actually became upset over this and tried to bargain my waiter down. That's about $12. I'm so tired of spending money to eat.

2. It's hard to get water to drink. If you ask for a cup of water, they either ask you "Sparkling or Mineral?" And charge you a mint for it, or, if you're lucky, they bring you half a glass of water with no ice. It's cheaper to get wine almost.

3. French men are very stylish.

4. Italy is a fashionista's shopping paradise.

5. Don't buy clothes in Europe because you will pay more for it, ie, in Euros. Only buy if you think it's a style that is unique to Europe.

6. The French speak French. They refuse to speak English, though I'm convinced they have learned the language. School children, in Europe, are required to take English and they also learn many other languages, due to proximity of the countries. The US should definitely require the school systems to teach our children another language; we are at a disadvantage by being only unilingual - and not even doing that very well. I am going to tkae advantage of the Rosetta Stone courses available to me on AKO.

7. The train system is very easy to use and is, for the most part, timely and efficient. Europeans rely on the train, bus, subway, bicycling, and walking, as their means of transportation. Cars are not the primary means of transportation. If a car is used, they are usually very small, like the Smart car or a similarly small Fiat, Honda, or Toyota. There are several types of small cars made by major manufacturers that are not sold in the US. As a matter of fact, I don't recall seeing any US cars on the road, though I did see a Ford dealership in Nice. Plan to do a lot of walking should you ever visit Europe.

8. It is so much better to travel knowing that you are loved by someone special versus being unloved by someone special. There is so much comfort in knowing that you can return home to loving arms and discomfort in the uncertainty of that. Love is in the air in Europe. So much hugging and kissing and holding hands or holding each other. I miss the touch of another human being - and the ability to converse with someone.

9. Besides love being in the air, smoke is in the air. Europeans smoke as if they never heard that smoking can cause lung cancer and is a risk factor in heart disease. Germany has the cleanest air I have experienced.

Note: I have just had a very upsetting experience. The conductor just came by and said that I do not have a ticket and that my Eurailpass is no good. That was not my understanding. Despite showing him documents showing differently, he charged me an additional 84.40 Euros and crossed out my ticket. I am so upset and am now crying uncontrollably. It feels like I have been taken for my money everywhere. On top of that, I am feeling very lonely and unloved, I feel that that my love life is a mess, and now I, myself am a mess. People are coming to me to try to console me. How embarrassing!!! My eyes are so red and watery right now. However, I will continue to write as this provides me with some comfort.

10. Destin's water is just as pretty as the French Riviera's water. The sand in Destin is much better.

11. There are many Asians and people of African descent in Europe. They speak the tongue of the country they are living in.

12. I needed that cry. Msaybe thatks why my tears flowed so easily. I hardly ever cry but I do have some personal issues that are causing me distress and that saddens me. I need to get my tears out over this. I am a woman and women are allowed to cry.

13. Thirty days is a long time to travel. I am going to pay the price of this when I return to work and to the care and upkeep of my home.

14. Dogs in Europe are very obedient and well-mannered. A lot of people there have small dogs. These dogs sit by or near their masters and do not move!!

15. Other tidbits: Life is what you make of it. This is not a dress rehearsal. To have friends, you must be a friend. To have love, you must give love. Take care of your body - nutritionally, physically, spiritually, mentally; you will be paid back in dividends. Happiness is a choice; you can choose to dwell in your sorrows or to move on and decide to react positively to life. Take tart lemons and turn them into sweet lemonade. Accept what comes at you and deal with it (like having to pay more to get to Barcelona; I'll save somewhere else.). Don't compare your blessings with someone else's blessings. Robyn, you are blessed with what God wants you to have. Now take those blessings and share with those who are less fortunate.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.266s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0745s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb