A Glorious Day in Florence, Italy


Advertisement
Europe
May 13th 2009
Published: May 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday I spent a full day on three guided tours of Florence, all designed to display the beauty of Florence. There is so much history here, but the main thing I discovered was how much art history there is in Florence. I never really had an appreciation for art history, but this tour has sparked a new interest in me. Besides taking a walking tour of the sights of Florence, we toured the world famous Uffizi Gallery and Michaelangelo's David, all 12 feet of his marvelously sculptured body. There are some free online college courses on art history and I think I'm going to take a few of these courses.

Also on this tour were some fascinating individuals. One of these, I will call 25/25/25. She is a 25 year old woman, traveling through 25 countries in 25 days!! She's from Australia - these Australians really travel- and had to count Australia as one of the countries to make her 25. Incredible!! I met another Australian family who was headed to Monaco around the same time I'll be there; they told me about the Formula One race car event that will be there at the same time. I also met people from Virginia and Florida. All in all, a nice day in Florence.

I'm now on the train headed to a day in Venice. This will be a short visit but I was told that I need only get a day pass on the water buses and I will end up seeing some wonderful sights. So that's the plan.
Arreverdeci!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.231s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0444s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb