Florence, Pisa, and Lucca Italy


Advertisement
Europe
May 12th 2009
Published: May 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

It's very early, Tuesday morning, and I have just awoken to the street sounds below me. I have a full day tour of Florence scheduled for today so I'm going to get up and get started shortly.
Let me first tell you about my residence in Florence. I found this little hotel, which is like a bed and breakfast and is my first non-standard, unAmericanized room, through Frommer's recommendations. When I made the reservation, their confirmation came back saying that my room was up 68 steps, with no elevator. NO KIDDING!! Luckily, they had someone available who could carry my well-used, sturdy, but getting heavier and heavier as I travel duffel bag up. I'm telling you, once I go downstairs, I DO NOT go back upstairs until the end of the day. Anyway, back to the room. The hotel is quite old. No elevators. Lots of antique - or very old - furniture. The floor is concrete with a thin carpet over it. A skeleton key is used to open the door, which does not close fully. The mattress is semi-hard and dips in the middle: probably like your grandmother's mattress. The decor is pink and flowery- Laura Ashley style- with high ceilings and a small chandelier hanging from the middle. The window is European style, without a screen, and opens up so I can hang my laundry out of it to dry (that's what I've seen). The bathroom has a sink, a small shower which overflowed this morning because I couldn't figure out how to drain it, a toilet with a wierd push button flush that is about a foot away from the toilet, and a bidet which I haven't figured out how to use. The TV is circa 1985 and shows only Italian speaking programs (last night I watched the Italian soap operas) and one CNN station that is English speaking but has a lot of static on it. In other words, I LOVE IT!!! A continenta breakfast is served on the level below the reception area by Asian butlers dressed on white coats. The glasses used all have a little scum on them, but they're clean. The exterior of the hotel, which is on a buiy street, is gated with a large brick fence surrounding it. There are vines and flowers everywhere within the confines of the fence. this place has so much "flavor" to it. It's not made for everyone, but after the initial shock, I really do like it.

Did I mention that it seems that everyone here smokes? The air is filled with the smell of smoke everywhere you go.

Yesterday, I arose early and took the train to Pisa and to Lucca. Of course, a trip to Italy is not complete until you have seen the Leaning Tower of Pisa. It's a short walk through town from the train station. During that walk, I passed numerous designer boutiques, tea shops, street musicians, and a wonderful shoemaker shop. I've read about shoemaker merchants but this is the firsr time I ever experienced a real Manola Blahnik style shoemaker. The smell of leather emanated deeply from the little store. I met the lady who makes the shoes and other leather goods; some of them were quite expensive. I ended up buying a leather bag because I just had to. Just because. On to the tower...you have to stand a certain distance away from it to see the extreme lean to it. Looks just like the pictures we all grew up seeing. The cathedral that's near it also has a small lean; it has something to do with the erosion of the land.

I left Pisa and took a 20 minute trai to Lucca, Italy. Getting on the train is very much like using MARTA or any other urban train system, with the exception that I do not have to pay because I'm on the Eurailpass. Anyway, Lucca is a very interetoing town. It is completely surrounded by a brick medevial fence dating from medevial times. All of the buildings are extremely old and well made; they include housing as well as more designer boutiques. As a matter of fact, Italy can be a shopper's paradise - Roberto Cavalli, Gucci, Hugo Boss, Louis Vuitton, Max Mara, any that you want. The difference between here and home is that Italy is the origin of many of these designers - and many we may not have heard of - so you will find items here that you would not see in the US. This is the Tuscany Valley and the food here is different due to the moix of spices amd herbs and othe ingredients. I had a very tasty and very spicy spaghetti while in Lucca. Lucca has many squares (they call them Piazzas), each with their own unique atmosphere but all with boutiques and massive cathedrals. I love the fact that all of the countries I've visited have done much to preserve it's history and culture.

I returned to Florence early in the evening and went searching for the city central. I did find it but decided not to do too much exploring as I am having a guided tour today. I did, however, eat at one of the Piazzas. I thought I was eating cheaply - a cappucinno and a small salad. 12.20 Euro which is about $17!!! Yikes!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.208s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.037s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb