Amsterdam, Strasbourg, and Stockholm...


Advertisement
Europe
November 22nd 2008
Published: November 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post



Quick update, since I really don’t have time to be babbling about what’s been happening the last 3 weeks!! From the pictures, it seems like I’m not doing any studying (half true...I hardly have any work to do, but now that I do... I feel lazy). But these trips are taking place on the weekend since I only have class Monday- Wednesday, meeting once a week (I’m taking six classes!).

AMSTERDAM
I got stoned...for the first time. That was basically the trip...hahaha. This ex-model Russian guy that I met at the hostel invited me to smoke, and I just went for it since I’ve never been stoned. It’s actually kinda hard not to when they have a hash shop on every corner and sit down on a cafe-like setting and order a gram or two of weed. But you guys should’ve heard the stuff that was coming out of my mouth while stoned. hahaha...I felt like I had no control and the Russian guy was just laughin at everythin I was just tellin him (spare the details later). gracious.

On the whole, I want to go back to Amsterdam. I only had 1 night/2 days since I went back a day earlier than I wanted to since I was still tired/stoned the whole day after. I loved walkin around the neighborhoods while eating (they have kick-ass food!!!). Not only that, the Red Light District is something not to be missed while in Amsterdam. The girls standing in front of a full-glass window while prostituting themselves. It’s kinda sad/funny the same time. It’s sad because some of them look fresh out of high school and its funny because it’s just something I’ve never seen before.


STRASBOURG
Quaint city. I went to visit my french friends whom I met in San Diego while they were doing their study abroad program last year...and it’s strange to have been reunited with them in France!! I would definitely say my french have improved by a mile. I was hanging out with them and their friends having full on conversation, and even starting to understand and speak in argo (french slang). I was even taught how to play poker in French. Weird considering many people have tried to teach me before (in ENGLISH) yet I wouldn’t understand. But now I know how to play!

I will visit them again sometime before I leave. I wouldn’t mind visiting Strasbourg again and walk around the German-influenced neighborhoods (the city borders Germany) and eat chocroutes (Strasbourg/Alsace specialty)!!


STOCKHOLM
ABSOLUTELY IN LOVED this city....and I want to go back!! I thought 2 nights/2days would suffice since I really don’t know what to do/see in Sweden. But it definitely wasn’t enough since I could just walk around the city a whole day without particularly doing anything special and still be amused by it’s character. Highlight of this trip was watching the Changing of the Guards at the Royal Palace...that kicked so much ass. Actually, I wouldn’t mind going back to Stockholm just to see that again. But maybe I’ll plan to go there during the summer time because it was still FREEZING COLD!! My whole body, from head to toe, went numb. Then add wind to the freezing temperature...not a good mix!! It seriously felt like an open air freezer. But it’s an amazing city nonetheless! (oh, and I finally had some authentic Swedish meatballs!!)


There you have it. Time is running by so fast (actually, more like sprinting). It needs to stop. Next journey takes me to Vienna, Austria this upcoming weekend then off to our two-week vacation. Headed to Germany to visit my aunties for 5 days then headed off to Egypt.


Missin u all... and reliable public transportation.

Advertisement



Tot: 4.02s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 24; dbt: 0.027s; 3; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb