My missed flight to Vienna


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Vienna » Vienna
November 22nd 2008
Published: November 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Never in my life have I ever missed a flight. And I was PISSED beyond belief.

So I stayed over at my friend’s pad in Paris the night before so I would have ample time to get to her place (instead of coming all the way from my school, which is located over an hour train ride north of Paris) to the airport at Paris Orly. I thought I had PLENTY of time since I left her apartment more than 2 hours before my flight. What should’ve taken AT MOST 40 minute metro ride from my friend’s house to the airport took me a good 2 hour ride!!! I’ve taken the RER metro before and it normally makes fewer stops than the regular Paris metro line, but apparently the line that I took was longer than normal!! Needless to say, I figured I was going to miss my flight when I was on that train.

BUT, what I had in mind was AT LEAST the airline will put me on stand-by on the next flight out. BUT THAT WAS NOT THE CASE! Not only will they not put me on stand-by, but they would not even refund my money back!! Apparently it’s their policy that "It is not our fault if you missed your flight....so sucks to be you." WTF?? The lady on the counter told me if I really wanted to get to Vienna, I would have to buy another outbound ticket, which would have cost me an extra 230EUROS.

I looked her blanked in the face while I had in mind to tell her to f*ck off.

I paid 108euros roundtrip for the flight and she’s asking for 230euros just for one way, when I’m only gonna be there for 2 days?? But the biatch was serious. I was furious beyond belief. Actually, when I got to the airport, the plane was still boarding. But strictly due to their policy that they have to close check-in 40 minutes prior to departure, I was out of luck. There were several things the least they could have done. The least they could have done was ask to hold the plane (which they would do if I was flying a more legitimate airline), or put me on stand-by, or refund my money back. But, unfortunately, I struck out on all three.

I seriously wanted to drop kick that lady. Or open fire at her. Or tar and feather all the employees of that airline (SkyEurope!) and drag them around the runway. But since I did not want to be deported, and not to mention able to keep my freedom and not be put in jail, I tried to be calm as much as I could, when in reality I was furious beyond belief.

Well, I guess there’s always first for everything. And now I have to figure out when I would be able to visit Vienna...since I really don’t have much time left here.

I hate Paris Orly. Nothing positive has come out of that airport for me. Read my blog when I went to Morocco. pssh.

But here on out, I fly thursday to Germany to visit the aunties, then off to Egypt! Time is running by so fast here. Time is actually sprinting...more like speeding. It needs to stop.

Miss you all. And my ramen noodles.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0202s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb