Oh Amiens...


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Picardy » Amiens
November 22nd 2008
Published: November 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Another thought.

I just want to say how much pressure it is to be really the ONLY student in class. I’ve never known anybody to be the only student in their class/have I known a class with only one student in it.

At first, it started off with two people…. this other French chic and me. Now normally, if a class is under enrolled, they cancel it (back at SDSU, at least). But much to my surprise, they kept the “class” going.

Since the faculty only offer two classes that has any correlation to my multimedia major, I had no choice to stick it out and stay with it. And I knew it was only a matter of time until that other girl will stop showing up.

And I was right. She was gone the next week. HAHA.

So since the second week of classes, it’s just been me and about twenty other computers in one room every Tuesday at 9h30 til12… and this French professor (when he’s not in the room, smoking outside).

It’s awkward. For one, I feel like I have private tutoring. Second, I really don’t have a choice but to really really really listen attentively because I am, afterall, the only person he’s talking to. And third, I have the responsibility of keeping that class alive. LOL. I can never be absent (missed one class after St. Pat’s) Actually, I can’t even be late without having neurotic thoughts that they’re gonna cancel the class for the rest of the semester (ie today).

This is pressure!


Oh..ps. I wanted to say how the eccentricity and emo-ness of art students are not exclusive to the States. They are here, alive and well. Art students should really be their own sub-culture.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0175s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb