Boats. Big Boats.


Advertisement
Europe
June 5th 2007
Published: June 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Boats. Big Boats.

 North America » United States » Florida By TanyaB
June 5th 2007
Tanya Buxton

New Job



As some of you know I have been looking into working on boats for quite some time now. So, I recently joined the crew on an amazing 164 ft. (50 meter) private yacht/research vessel. The plan is for the owner to use the boat as a private yacht, but then it will also be used for research expeditions for oceanic exploration.

The boat is an old Australian Navy vessel that has undergone two refits and we just let the yard after the recent refit.


While I was waiting to hear if I would get this job, I decided to give myself an introduction to the megayacht industry and I went to Ft. Lauderdale, Florida (on a one-way ticket with only $300 in my pocket) to look for some temporary work on yachts. Luckily after just two days I found some work. Mostly I was working short-term day jobs detailing yachts. I did get a freelance position on a 142 ft. motor yacht. We went from Miami to Cat Cay, Bahamas (near Bimini) for a few days. It was a nice trip with a great crew.




Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

SubmersibleSubmersible
Submersible

Our sub on the cover of February's Diver magazine.
SubmersibleSubmersible
Submersible

Loading the sub into the sub room below deck.
Cat Cay, BahamasCat Cay, Bahamas
Cat Cay, Bahamas

The yacht (142 ft) that I freelanced on for a few days.


21st June 2007

where...?
It is Thursday - where in the world is my daughter today? (dad, in Poland)
21st June 2007

wow
You are such an amazing young woman!!
21st June 2007

Wow
Wow, man you are learning a lot, what an adventure!!! Enjoy!
21st June 2007

WOW!!!
I'm still in awe of everything you are learning and doing. Have a safe and uneventful crossing. Love Mom
23rd June 2007

unreal
Tanya - A dream come true! You must be so happy. I'm proud of you! Love, Lannie

Tot: 0.313s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 50; dbt: 0.053s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb