Day 17


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom
November 14th 2007
Published: December 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

We arrived at the Heathrow International Airport in London, United Kingdom right when he sun was just rising above the horizon. It was another beautiful day and another beautiful place to explore and meet new people.
The only place I know to visit in England is Big Ben. Other than that, I am uncertain, so I waved down a taxi and asked what a good place to see. He told me the Westminster Abby Church us a good place. I took his word for to and he took there.
The church was huge and all gothic looking. It felt like living in medieval times. Anyways, I wandered into the church, and a person gestured me over. He was at a table full of books, papers and scrolls. He is probably spends day in and day out studying. He told me that a death coronation is going on, but he offered to go over today’s lessons. I gladly accepted, since I am Christian.
As the lesson was going on, a robed guy came by and recklessly interrupted, knocking book over. He had two girls with him and had a disgruntled look. "Hey, aren't you supposed to be studying you poor bastard," he asked. "Why would you care", argued my teacher. The guy gave a grimace and left. "He the friar," he told me. "He hates old/poor people and he frankly doesn't follow code. I understood wart he meant.
The lesson ended and I thanked him. As I was leaving, a guy came running up to me. The guy explained that he is a summoner and apologizes for the friars actions. I accepted his apologies. He told me that the friar was summoned in court and awaits further criticism and debate, and he apologized again. He gestured to a fellow man and gave me across. He said, “Take this, we have more, we have more of theses. I know you are on a pilgrimage, and I hope for the best." He offered to take me around the area and I deliberately inclined.
We both got into a car that was driven by the manciple of the church, and we strolled the streets. We went to famous sites and I learned a lot of the history from him. He then dropped me off at the airport and waved him good bye as he left.
My friends and I got ready for our trip to our next destination, Egypt. I spent $250.00 that day.


Advertisement



Tot: 1.05s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0789s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb