Wrexham County Borough 45 - Bangor on Dee - from Millionaires Row , to those in the middle and those in the council houses . /is it really 10 years ?


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Wales » Wrexham
August 12th 2021
Published: August 13th 2021
Edit Blog Post

6,200 steps - that is what it took to walk from home to Millionaires row, back round the estate , past the school , up the river , through Friars Fields garden and home I set out this morning before work with the intention of not walking for an hour but waking as many steps as I could . I had read that if I walked down each and every street in the village , through every alleyway I could clock up a mile walk . So today my plan was to see how far I could get . Let's be fair about this . I never made the hour walk nor did I walk every street . I managed about half the village keeping to the one side and the outer limits . I imagined I could clock up another 6,200 steps if I stepped out in the opposite direction . "When we do not expect anything we can be ourselves " .Shunayu Suzuki That was the thought for the day I found in the back of my diary. It was hidden away. I had forgotten about my thoughts for the day. I miss them . They used to brighten my morning .

My walk started in bright sunshine . I was not sure how long it would last . There were clouds in the sky . Not nice ones . More ominous in character . The sort that herald rain . Our flagstones are arriving today . We don't need rain whilst we unload them and move them out of the way. It was going to be a busy day , It was an odd day 13th August 2021. I write more blogs these days. Prior to Covid I wrote when we did something special . A day out , a stop for coffee, a visit to a garden. Perhaps it was a day at the seaside. I wrote more when Covid hit. Mainly to keep me busy. To give me something to do. I documented my thoughts, my hopes , my frustrations and so it continued until recently when my blogs slowed down.

13th August ten years ago 2011 I wrote my first blog. I did not write about a current holiday but scraped the barrel of my memories and wrote about the first holiday to the United States . Visiting small villages which were called cities . Witt and Nokomis in Illinois, large cities Chicago, Indianapolis and St Louis. I recalled trips to France in the car. A first drive through the Channel Tunnel. Eating four course lunches, watched kite surfers in La Rochelle. As I walked through the council housing estate I pondered on how our village was divided into three different parts . The council houses had been sold off by Maggie Thatchers government . Most now were privately owned . Our part in the middle was the beginning of the posher end as it was known. A mixture of houses and bungalows. All neat and tidy . As I stepped out from the semi posh end into millionaires row I remember holidays in Venice . Harrys Bar, the vaporettas , the volcano erupting in Iceland .

By 2008 were were travelling through France to Troyes, to Uzes and Carcassonne, Aigues Mortes. We were living in Ruthin in beautiful North Wales . How things changed with the arrival of Suzy Sundance the first motorhome we ever owned . She changed our lives and our holiday habits . Lake Garda, Croatia , Triest , We did the lot spending some of 2012 in Switzerland . The memories of ten years of blogging was coming back to me. Choosing photographs to upload to the site . That was always a difficult thing. So many to choose from .

I was by now walking amongst six and seven bedroom houses. Three garages . Who needs three garages I thought? All my walking since Covid hit and I have only seen on three garaged house and here it was . A pitch and putt course in the front garden . I had heard the story of the sewage pump which had been part of the consent to build these massive houses . The builder built the station but failed to maintain it . Someone got that wrong the first time it rained . August 2013 - a trip to Blenheim Palace . We were getting used to Suzy . We loved campsites then . Over the years we have moved to more wild camping . I thought that this time two years ago I would be cleaning Gabby and filling her ready for that years trip. This year it looked like another holiday would be cancelled . Covid has a lot to answer for . Life has been cruel lately and Covid cruel too. August 2013 - the thoughts were still flooding in . Castle Howard 2014 York , Donna Summer and the full Monty . We would even travel to the Czech Republic . Roche Abbey in 2015 for a day trip . A couple of trips to Spain and Portugal . How I wish I could go to anywhere now . Do you feel the same ?

I kept on dreaming and remembering where I had been to. I wondered if those who read my blog have read them all or just a few of them. Have they come in half way down or have they gone right back to the beginning and seen our journey through the last 10 years ? It has been a funny old ten years.

Advertisement



13th August 2021

10 Years!!
It feels like a lifetime!!! I think I wrote my first blog in 2011 when we went to India .....and I only write blogs now when we are out of the UK!! Its too much hard work otherwise!! Off to Plymouth & Paignton for a few days this weekend to see the sons!!! Hope all is well with you - apart from lack of travelling!
13th August 2021

10years ago
I find it hard to think how much has gone on in the last 10 years. Third different house. mother in law passed away. New van so much . I like Plymouth went when the kids were young and met up with a labourer who used to work with my first husband . Think I have probably been to Paignton too. I must admit I find writing blogs over Covid has been carthatic - think thats the word I am after . On the verge of cancelling the french trip . Glenn not fond of the idea of travelling at the moment . I cant see us getting anywhere soon . Got a month off in September but will cancel it and perhaps go to Scotland for a week . How is the hip ?
13th August 2021

10 Years!!
The hip is the knee replacement. Ive had my pre-admission again and due to have one knee replacement Aug or early Sept!! Watch this space!! Wondering if we can get a week in Guernsey in before I go in hospital and am therefore incapacitated for at least 6 weeks! We are seeing Chris' son who lives in Plymouth and my son who has just bought and renovating a holiday flat in Paignton!! Scotland in the van sounds good! Love Scotland!! Was hoping to get to Spain before xmas but jurys still out on that one!!!
14th August 2021

knees and hips
Its my neighbour having her hip done in two weeks time . Getting hips and knees muddled up !!!! Age thing I think .
15th August 2021

Spain
Hope you get there in the end . Fed up now and need to get out and about more .

Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0297s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb