Ceredigion 1 - Strata Florida/Preselli ice cream/ a red kite/ coffee and croissants


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Wales » Ceredigion » Tregaron
July 6th 2019
Published: July 8th 2019
Edit Blog Post

The sun was beaming down kindly on us. The sky an endless blue. The hillsides lush green after the endless summer days of rain. Gabby and the crew were parked up on hardstanding outside Strata Florida Abbey. Glenn had driven miles down narrow country lanes to get us here. Miles of winding roads that took us through tiny hamlets with a handful of houses. The odd centre of habitation passed through but nothing major. Pink Foxgloves lined the roadsides. Farmers farmed sheep. We felt as if we were home here in Ceredigion.

We arrived too early at the abbey. The gate was open and one car parked halfway across the entrance. This proved to be the cleaning mopping out the toilets. Being too early meant we could get out the caffetiere and brew up the coffee. The smell of fresh coffee filled Gabby. Coffee and croissants . We are civilised here in our motorhome. Who said you cannot make it home from home. As we sat drinking the steaming coffee the car park started to fill up. First a worker in his Hi Vis Jacket with his wife and his child. She had come for the day out with mum . They set off speaking English . Then a voice pitched up " Tyrd yma cariad " A lady sitting on the bridge called out to the child "Come here my love" . A bilingual child - how lovely. The serious walkers started to turn up. Backpacks filled - they were off for a days walking.

As we waited Glenn spotted a Red Kite circling above us catching the thermals. A beautiful who treated us to a display of sheer beauty as it circled round and round in the clear sky .We had pencilled in a visit to the Red Kite Feeding Centre tomorrow but it seems as if the Kite had other ideas and had managed to find us today.

To pass a little time we walked over to the church with its large graveyard. A single naved church typical of Wales , Unadorned from the outside with one single bell. Sadly the doors were locked so we could not see inside. The graveyard was full of gravestones. Almost all were inscribed in Welsh - Er cof - in memory the inscriptions in silver and the names picked out in gold. It was a peaceful graveyard. Some of the graves were adorned with glass grave domes full of waxed flowers. I had not seen anyof these for many years. As a child I remember them on graves in our local cemetery but they went out of fashion and disappeared one by one until virtually none remain. Here they remained all in good order.

By now it was 10 and the abbey should be open. We headed that way to be greeted with a cheery Good morning and a request to come back in five minutes . Just time for them to finish mopping the floor. We wandered back to the bridge which crossed the dry river bed . We could see the abbey and thought this was no Tintern, no Jumiege nor a Valle Crucis. But it was free as we were Cadw members and we had nothing else to do. She called us in and we entered Abaty Ystrad Fflur the abbey founded in 1164 through the patronage of Rhys ap Gruffydd. In 1184 a further charter was issued by Lord Rhys ensuring the abbey was under the patronage of the Princes of Deheubarth. . The first thing you see is the iconic west doorway with views across towards what was once the Great East Window. Now long gone. This would have been the ceremonial entrance used by the gentry rather than the day to day entrance to the abbey. Sadly following the Dissolution of the monasteries most of the stone was carted away to be used for local building materials . What is left is a shell of what was once a really impressive building. Side chapels were floored in medieval tiles bought by the rich in order to both beautify the chapels but also to cut their time in purgatory. Money as always was seen as the way to anything . A stone basin lay in the middle of the nave possibly used on Maundy Thursday when the bishops washed the monks feet. There was a stone plaque on the wall commemorating the life of the poet Dafydd ap Gwilym born around 1315 - 1320 and thought to be one of the leading welsh poets and amongst the great poets of medieval Europe. He died from the Black Death and may have been buried in the graveyard in Strata Florida.

A link was fostered between the Welsh princes of Deheubarth and the Abbey . The remains of many of the royal princes were buried in the abbey chapter house although they have long disappeared into the annals of history. Lord Rhys had become one of the main patrons of the abbey after its foundation in 1164. It seems that a great majority of the monks were patriotic and were fined £800 (a great of money in 1212) for supporting Llewellyn ap Iorwerth the prince of Gwynedd. In 1238 Prince LLewellyn called all the princes here to the abbey to swear allegiance to his son and heir Dafydd.

Around the back wall of the abbey we stumbled on a row of ancient graves. Each one topped by a large heavy stone and with rudimentary gravestones. These were likely to be the graves of monks from the abbey. What a peaceful place to find yourself in death.

We walked back to Gabby for another coffee but on the way stopped for an ice cream . Strawberry and a vanilla one all home made on the farm. We sat outside Gabby with our ice cream in one hand and a cup of coffee in the other.

So where were we going to next ? To try to ring the changes we are heading for Brecon and the Royal Welsh museum.

Advertisement



8th July 2019

Wales
Moving down to our neck of the woods?!!
9th July 2019

Just remind me
Hi Jackie can you give me your blog details again . I thought you were on Travel Blog but lost your details
9th July 2019

Blog address
www.mytb,org/jackieandchris2011, Funny how you enjoy travelling close to home!! We do too!!!
10th July 2019

blog
Thanks for the blog details - Will have another look at it . To be honest I dont care where I go as long as I dont have to work :)
10th July 2019

WASPI
Dont start me on that one!! Another year and two months until I'm 66 years and get my State Pension!! Unless we win the Judicial Review!! x
11th July 2019

Working
I am a WASPI too and was disgusted to be told that at 58 I was going to have to wait until I was 61 years and 10 months to get my pension. Not as bad as many women but I still lost 19K over that time. I carried on working and am the oldest work coach in our area and probably in Derbyshire . I get annoyed at being over 67 and having to listen to sick people and lazy sods telling me they cannot work . I hope the judicial review goes the right way. I would get a few holidays if I got the money back . I get annoyed too that because I have a relatively small civil service pension my state pension is reduced. Makes me wonder why I have worked all these years. Having said that I still feel too young to pack work in . x
11th July 2019

WASPI
I found out when I was 58yrs I had to wait until I was 66 years old! And I had given up full time work when I was 52 and just did 6 months contract work, the 6 mths off to be with Chris who was already retired! Im now deemed unemployable as I can not get work references and my computer skills are out of date!! I have had to sell my house in Bristol and down sized to Newport! And I have been on TV!!! My claim to fame!! lol. All my hopes are with the JR. x
12th July 2019

TV
what was the TV programme ? I am most curious.
12th July 2019

tv
i am not sure!! it was on itv - for welsh tv.....I think it was last year sometime...im really not sure!! whoever it was, was doing a 1/2 hr programme on Waspi...
13th July 2019

tv
we still watch BBC Wales up here and S4C . Never got into the habit of watching Yorkshire rubbish . Means nothing . Prefer to hear what is going on in the Senedd

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 16; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0364s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb