D6: Another miserable train day lol


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland
June 24th 2014
Published: June 24th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Ok NationalRail, I don’t quite know why you choose to hurt me like this, but considering I’ve never had problems before this trip, I’ll chalk it up to chance and will trust I will have no more issues. Deal? Deal.

I took the train from Thurso to Kyle of Lochalsh (Isle of Skye) and I got on my train alright… I just didn’t have my ticket lol. When you buy online you have to collect at the train station and 99% of the time there is a machine outside or on the platform, otherwise you have to collect in the station itself. With my train luck this trip there were no machines at all and the station opens at 9h45... but my train was at 8h39. Of course.

Thankfully the ticket collector on the train was the sweetest little old man. I explained my situation and told me he’d have to sell me a ticket to Dingwall at the very least (my transfer point) - then I could explain the situation to them, (hopefully) get it refunded and at least collect my original ticket. It was only £10 to Dingwall with my Youth Card so I figured grand scheme even if they won’t refund me it won’t send me packing.

The ride itself to Dingwall was beautiful - how could it not be, travelling down the middle of the highlands where you see nothing but fields, mountains and the occasional lake. There weren’t even that many sheep (shocking! I know) because it’s really that remote.

Once in Dingwall I went to chat with the staff… who… well one was a dick, one was pollte, but long story short after they called their boss the verdict was no refund because they can’t refund the ticket I bought on the train because I used it, and they can’t refund my other ticket because I still needed the other half to get to Kyle of Lochalsh.

Right.

To be fair, the lady was apologetic about it and gave me a form that I could fill out to send to ScotRail to try and get a voucher at the very least. “Make you make note that you’re a foreigner!” I had to laugh at that. We’ll see. If they give me a voucher it would be for like.. £6 most likely which I suppose is better than nothing but we’ll see.

Ok. So I got on my train to Kyle of Lochalsh no problem… except we than sat in the station for 10 minutes and got further delayed again down the track. Again, at least the scenery was beautiful - heading towards Isle of Skye was really remarkable as there were lakes and coves and all sorts of birds. Really picturesque. As we pulled into Kyle of Lochalsh we were again stuck waiting… not quite sure for what this time. Considering I was supposed to arrive at 4pm and my busses to Broadford were at 4:15 or 4:16 (why have two at the same time??), you have one guess if I made my connection or not.

...

If you didn’t guess that I missed my bus, you haven’t been following my adventures haha.

It was 4:40pm by the time I actually got off the train. I didn’t even bother going to the bus stop - I hunted for an info place to see if there was even another bus or if I’d have to taxi it. Thankfully there was supposed to be one at 6:40pm and another at 7:25pm. Okfine. I asked for the schedule just to be safe and I walked down to the waterfront… figured if I was going to park myself somewhere, there was the prettiest place.

As I sat there eating the last of my treacle scones, I checked the timetable only to see that the 6:40pm bus only runs in the summer. And apparently summer only starts June 30th here.

*lowers timetable pamphlet and stares hopelessly off into the body of water*

Fine. A three hour wait for a bus that may or may not show up and that may or may not be full. Brilliant. You have to laugh at some points, don’t you?

I set myself up proper on a bench. Literally took my shoes off and sat sideways to read my book - figured I should get comfortable. The sun was blazing so I had my baseball cap on too… I’m sure I was quite the site. Positive note? The book I’m reading is fabulously confusing and brilliantly written: “American Purgatario.” I’m near the end and just hoping that the ending doesn’t leave me disappointed because it’s had a great build-up.

Sure enough the 6:40pm bus didn’t come… not that I expected it to.

(Some guy just walked out of the water from the boat ramp and I’m very confused as to where he came from because there is not boat at the end of the ramp.)

(I also keep giving myself whiplash every time I hear a bus approach… but they’re all tour busses. I’m just going to sit here and eat skittles apparently.)

(Yes, apparently I’m now liveblogging my bus waiting adventure because I got my computer out because I’ve been waiting for two hours and figured I could try and be productive with the last hour at least.)

(Another thought for the day - I never travel by train when I travel. Like ever. I’m always on busses and people are like “*gasp shock horror* the BUS?! why would you take such a thing” but this trip is making me appreciate the horror that is a bus because at least busses tend to run on time and tend to show up and you have your ticket for them. Literally the worst experience I’ve had on a bus is that it arrived an hour early at my final destination thus robbing me of an hour’s sleep lol. Ok that or the time I took a bus from Glasgow to London and the lady beside me slept on me. Or the time I bussed from Estonia to Lithuania and everyone was drunk and singing. BUT OTHER THAN THAT busses have been good to me.)

(Ok that lost thought got a little rambly, apologies.)

(SWEET JESUS THE BUS HAS ARRIVED. I SEE A GLOWING 917 UIG DOWN THE ROAD AND I HAVE NEVER BEEN HAPPIER TO SEE A BUS IN MY LIFE)

Ok, so live blogging waiting for a bus is most definitely not how I saw this entry going haha. But I have made it to Broadford and it is stunningly beautiful. I walked up to the Coop to get groceries and regret not bringing my camera because it is postcard worthy here. Totally worth the aggravation again today.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0722s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb