Scotland on the Bonny Bonny Banks..... Achhhhhhhhh...... Edinburgh.


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland
September 1st 2012
Published: September 2nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Edinburgh.Achhhhhh. We have arrived! My Ancesters haven. The place that I have come full circle. I looked for my Grandmothers maiden name : Dallas: But to no avail. Woe is me.... Sigh.

We started out the day looking for our apartment in Haymarket Station. Once we arrived we realized that we did not have the apartment number. Our friends were already there, so as I was beginning to call them, who walks out of the building... our friend Bernd. Saved the long distance call to Montreal via Achin Germany and into Scotland. Of course, because Bernd is a precise type of guy, he planned it like that.

We decided to take a walking tour of Edinburgh, so thats what we did. We spent the rest of the morning and afternoon walking everywhere around. Lets see.... Lots of kilts for sale, but nobody wearing them. Hmmm.

Churches galore. Alleyways called "close" like. We will go down some of these today. We also stopped at a few pubs and sampled the local brew. At one pub the bouncer was a LARGE Scottish woman who I swear could really hurt me in a pinch. She had braided hair and could pass as a sumo wrestler.

We ended up in a cigar store and as tradition we bought a cigar and continued where we left of in Amsterdam, which was smokin a stogy together.

To many beers and not enough loos. Unlike Ireland with a public loo on every corner, my legs were twisting in the wind as I was walkin. Not 5 minutes out of the pub I had to go again! So what did I do ? I entered a free entry museum and instead of looking at the artifacts I beelined it to the loo. Not Bernd, he decided to look at all the stuff and kept us waiting outside for 10 minutes. I have to rethink the loo business.

The rest of the day we met the Queen ( See pic) she was shopping! Bagpipes everywhere... Finally after the 3rd pub we decided to eat Indian food and also had Indian beer. ( Did I say this ws a drinking beer vacation).


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



2nd September 2012

Wow
Keep those blogs coming Walter. You are the best. Love From Jay & Jay
2nd September 2012
UploadedFile3

Kool!
Sounds like fun! Too bad you couldn't find the Dallas clan. Was the brew as good as Ireland?
4th September 2012
UploadedFile3

Great brew.
Ginger beer is big here. As well as darkies, I myself indulge in the darrkies.

Tot: 0.519s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 75; dbt: 0.2127s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb